The Gift that Keeps on Giving in These Foolish Things

  • Dec. 5, 2022, 7:51 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My sweet dad got the covid. It makes me feel so bad because we have spent YEARS trying to protect the patriarch of my family from the fucking ‘vid and the first time he and mom go to do something with their lifelong friends (they took a short roadtrip to be with their buds at a cabin place for five days), dad gets it.

Actually, they all got it - the friends and my dad. The only person not to get it (yet) is my mom.

And my mom refuses to separate from my dad. She can’t be without him!

Ugh. My heart!

Anyway, dad is sick but got the Paxlovid from his doc this morning. Mom doesn’t feel great, but she never ever feels great anyway. I don’t know if it’s a matter of time or if she’s just so ornery that she’s not gonna get it. Thing is, she’s the one with the terrible lungs. If she does finally get it…

Meanwhile, I’m still out there helping holiday shoppers find gifts for their spouses and side pieces (ha! I don’t know about that, but it’s funny) and I’ve been maskless. I also got the bivalent booster, so I’m hoping that’s the protection I need.

Anyway. I guess we’ll never be able to have the c-word leave our vocabulary, will we?

Merry Fucking C-mas,
GS


Satine December 05, 2022

Awww, I'm so sorry to hear this but hope your dad's (and the friends') case is as mild as possible and your mom manages to avoid. Randomly I know so many people where one partner got it and the other didn't, even though they went all the same places and were constantly together, so I hope it gives her a miss and they all come through with no lasting effects.

Ginger Snap Satine ⋅ December 06, 2022

Thank you. I talked with Dad today. He says he's feeling a little better already. Mom still doesn't have it!

Jinn December 05, 2022

I hope your Dad recovers quickly and that your Mom does not get it.

Ginger Snap Jinn ⋅ December 06, 2022

Same!!

Jinn December 05, 2022

You stay safe too !

Complicated Disaster December 06, 2022

I hope they all get a swift recovery!! xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ December 06, 2022

Thank you! Fingers crossed.

sudare December 06, 2022

I hope it will not be a serious one… sincerely.

Ginger Snap sudare ⋅ December 06, 2022

Thank you. Me too!

Athena December 06, 2022

Sending anti covid vibes.

Ginger Snap Athena ⋅ December 06, 2022

Thank you! xo

Parliament December 06, 2022

My 91-year-old mom has interstitial lung disease (she's been on supplemental oxygen the last few years). She got COVID last month and she beat it from with little fanfare. Like you, I spent all this time trying to keep her safe and she was the one who gave COVID to me. I had a tougher go of it than she did!

Ginger Snap Parliament ⋅ December 06, 2022

Whoa! Your mom is a ROCK STAR! And I didn't know you got it - so sorry! How are you doing?

WhatDreamsMayCome December 06, 2022

I hope he recovers quickly and your mom avoids it all together. I got it at one point and my wife never did.

Ginger Snap WhatDreamsMayCome ⋅ December 06, 2022

So far so good!

bobbi01 December 06, 2022

It's still out there! Best wishes for a speedy recovery for your Dad, and a continued dodge of it for your Mother.

plushcreep December 07, 2022

Nope, looks like it'll always be around...but hopefully much milder. Everybody I know personally who has gotten it (myself included, Tara, my parents) has only suffered from what is akin to a moderate cold. Knock on wood. Here's hoping your dad (and mom) are just fine!

Serin December 11, 2022

I hope they are starting to feel better. My parents got it in september, and after the first week of symptoms things seem to get better.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.