It's Cold In Here... in Help Me Please

Revised: 12/05/2022 7:53 a.m.

  • Dec. 5, 2022, 3 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The earlier I wake up the colder it is and I am wondering why the heat isn’t at the recomended level that hydro says is good? Like this morning at 4 am it was 15 C which is 59 and I find that way too cold with no sun. Even outside feels warmer at -6 or 21 and there is a bit of a breeze because of the darkness and no sun.
I am thinking about getting my own heating pad just so at least my but and back are warmer.
I have a question for you all? What tempature is your thermoustat at during a day and what is it at when you go to bed? Here in B.C. the hydro comapny says a good daytime tempature is 68 during the day and about 66 at night. I think I can deal with that but it’s a lot colder then that. And the heat doesn’t start going until the landlady wakes up which is a lot of hours I have to sit in the cold so I will contine to use the oven as a heat source till I hear the furnace kicks in.

Onto something else…

For my domestic duties for today I am going to be doing some much needed laundry and I am going to be putting more salt on my walk ways and then the regualr back to work stuff I do when hubby has to go back to work.
On the 15th of december hubby’s work is going to have a secret santa and a little treat day so I am planning on making my famous brownies it’s just that they can be done in oine pot and there isn’t much of a mess and everyone likes them. Or maybe cookies of some sort....I will be asking hubby again and just make whatever he wants to bring.
And hubby went and got some fruit and vegetables so now I don’t have to do an online order and worry if there is too much snow on my sidewalks. So also today I will be cutting the melons I got yesterday so there will be some fruit to eat.
And I am not sure what will be for dinner but I am thinking pork stir fry just because it’s a one dish prep thing.

Onto something else....
I haven’t talked to my son all week. The last I heard was he was waiting for his refund for his bed frame and he was getting a different one so I want to find out if he got it yet or what. Then he wants to get a dresser. and then a cheap table and chairs.

Well I should stop here and start thinking about my day and what I am going to do first.
Do have a great day…
Be Kind, Be Calm, Be Safe and Behave.


Last updated December 05, 2022


Anaiss December 05, 2022

Heat set at 68 is too high for me. Actually I don't turn my heat on pretty much until it's below freezing outside and then I never have it higher than 66, usually it's at around 64. I usually turn it off at night and then I turn it on before I get out of bed in the morning (through an app in my phone).

Jodie Anaiss ⋅ December 06, 2022

You remind me of my mom and dad they like their heat down low also and they always have windows open all year.

theKat December 05, 2022

68 to 70 for me. but it should be your choice not a land lord. I am sure you could make her up to code by making her get a separate electric meter but you would be responsible for the payment. if she is paying I guess it is up to her. she is trying to freeze you out so she can get separate heating... would save her a 100 or 200

Jodie theKat ⋅ December 06, 2022

I think she didn't want a second furnice because of the cost of putting it in but then she wouldn't be spending this I would be and I would be good with that.

theKat Jodie ⋅ December 06, 2022

so one furnace is enough to heat and cool two apartments

Jodie theKat ⋅ December 06, 2022

I guess so..and it's run by gas....

Jodie theKat ⋅ December 06, 2022

I guess so..and it's run by gas....

toddslife December 05, 2022 (edited December 05, 2022)

Edited

the landlord is spot to keep it at 65 or over that's the law not lower the 65

Jodie toddslife ⋅ December 06, 2022

Well during a day it's at something like 68 and then she turns it down to 64 but it feels just as cold as it is outside and she just doesn't understand that different people like different temopatures. So I will be using the stove everyday till I hear the heat kick in. But then she is always compaling of how much the gas is and like I have told her...We should have had a lease and have the gas and electricity split in half....And now she can't do that because everything has to go by the original lease that I did not sign. But I just have to remeber that it's her money and not mine....

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.