This season in TIME Flies and other Thoughts

  • Dec. 26, 2022, 12:39 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I wanted to do this Christmas Season different. Be more on top of decorating, cards, and Christmas programs on tv. I have been a Fuddy duddy for 26 years most of the time.

THIS YEAR I WANTED TO-
- have Christmas cards mailed by the 1st.
- have my decorations up the weekend after Thanksgiving. (Last year I did it 3 days before).
- listening to Christmas Music starting on the 1st. (Last year we never turned them on),

HOW WELL I HAVE DONE-
- DEC 2nd- I pulled the decoration from the freezing garage and went through unwrapping my large decorations and pulling out other stuff. It sits on the tables and counters.

- DEC 3rd- My husband turned Christmas Music on today They sadden me really. Because when you have one remaining child and one dead and no grandchildren, how joyous can this time be? .......... It is a reminder of what is not……
However, that is why I said I was going to be with it this Season. Force myself to make the best of it. Don’t be such a fuddy duddy. (This year I have found that many people feel the same way I do. Aside from Jesus, Christmas is a Children’s Holiday).

- DEC 7th- I mailed everyone in the Church Directory a Card and 10 friends (I have more cards to send).
........ I have done fairly well thus far—
- DEC 12th- handed out about 20 cards to various groups of people

- DEC 14th- I had told my husband that the next Sunny Day I will put up the tree and decorations. It is Sunny today.. and here is my time to do that but this is the first afternoon I have been free since 2 week ago.. I just wanna kick back. That evening I finally got to put the groceries away from 2 days ago! What an occupied time it has been! Laster in the evening I set out all the big Decorations around the house. (Making slow progress).

- DEC 15th- It was a Sunny Day and I did zero decorating. I did get a package in the mail for my Mom and went to the next town to look for some items. I plan to send my Mom another Package Friday Afternoon. I made some Fudge and about to go make some cookies… (it is 1:50am. I seem to typically find time to make cookies in the late evening/early morning). My Mom gets the Cookies and the Fudge. Plus, I am making Cookies for a group I am meeting with later tomorrow.

- DEC 16TH- Another nice day, Sunny but no time. I think I have decided to stick with Christmas stuff I have out and call it good. Large Decorations and small Christmas (3 feet) Tree.

- DEC 20th- I still have about 15 Christmas cards to get out. They are those who never send me a card unless I send them one. I might write them personally in January instead. That way they don’t feel obligated to scrounge up a card to send to me.

I finished making the last batches of Egg Nog Cookies and froze them. Some go to the Church for the Christmas Eve Service. Some go to a few Friends. A Big batch goes to my Mom. (By this point each year, I am soooooooo done with making these Cookies).

- DEC 23rd- I finally got the little Christmas tree up and decorated. And I set out all my Christmas Cards I received… about 30.

- DEC 24th- We went to the Christmas Eve Service.

- DEC 25th- I put on the Couch and Chair Christmas Covers (Christmas Towels and Blankets). I’d of done it sooner but this gives less change for the cat to get cat hair all over them. Putting these covers on, really changes the look of the furniture and it just feels more Christmassy.
We turned on Christmas Music again. (Second time for the season).
Our Daughter and son in law came at noon. We spend the day playing games.
We had Pork Tenderloin/Mashed Potatoes and Gravy. A favorite of my daughter and I. We were going to have Brownies and Ice Cream but too full. My brother in law and this wife came over and we played more games. They all left about 9pm. Then we my husband and I sat down and watched some Christmas Movies. And, That be That!


Hotaru December 27, 2022

Christmas is such a loaded holiday with so many expectations.

ConnieK December 27, 2022

Oh how my heart pulled when you noted the child who is missing. I hurt for you and I hurt with you. I skipped cookie making and catered in this year. We had lots of fun and I wasn't exhausted.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.