NJM #21 - Reminiscing in These Foolish Things

  • Nov. 21, 2022, 9:36 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was kind of clicking around through old entries tonight trying to figure out what to write, and I came across something that I thought was hilarious.

One of the last business trips I took right before the Holidays before the Pandemic was a trip to the Interwoven Fabric Show (formerly Showtime, for those in the textile products business) in High Point, NC.

And because I’d go to these trade shows solo, I’d always get into some kind of…interesting situation. This time was no different.

I guess it’s because High Point is such a quaint little town, nothing like New York or Vegas, that the interesting things can happen around any corner rather than in the crowds of massive convention halls.

Anyway, I’d met these Italian guys while I was sitting down in one of those sofa areas where you can take a break and check emails and such and somehow, somehow agreed to let one of the Italians treat me to dinner.

I can’t remember why, but we ended up in the hotel restaurant/bar where I was staying, and I think we had a few glasses of wine and this guy was trying to get me to take him up to my room, but I made him leave after dinner.

He left me this voicemail on the way to his hotel. Guess he stopped to get gas and say hello. I thought this was a funny message and I just ran across it again while clicking entries and had to post this blast from the past:

Italian man proposing he come to my room and tickle my back without making love!

Anyway. Those days? I kinda miss them.

Carry on,
GS


Deleted user November 21, 2022

LOL! He sounds like WebGuy where I work, but with a deeper voice.

My biggest run-in with Italians at a convention was in Hawaii. They saw my nametag, and I guess my last name (also Italian) had them thinking they could ask me all kinds of questions, the best of which was whether I knew where the Bonzai Pippalini was.

"You mean Bonzai Pipeline?"

Ah, my paisans.

Jinn November 21, 2022

:-)

Complicated Disaster November 22, 2022

Slightly off topic - would it be worth going to the shows to network?? xx

sudare November 22, 2022 (edited November 22, 2022)

Edited

I don’t know what Italian guys are thinking about! I met a guy in a train in England who served me a glass or wine with a glass-made wine glass.

Ginger Snap sudare ⋅ November 22, 2022

I know what they are thinking about... 😉😆

Fawkes Gal November 22, 2022

Oh my goodness, how much wine had he had? What a fun silly memory.

Ginger Snap Fawkes Gal ⋅ November 22, 2022

A lot. Or maybe not even a lot. This guy didn't even need wine to be like that. He was like that the whole time!

plushcreep November 23, 2022

I don't know if that's really hot or really skeezy. Either way, kinda hard to understand some of what was coming out of his mouth...but kudos to him for trying, I suppose.

WhatDreamsMayCome November 26, 2022

Thanks for the chuckle. 😉

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.