NJM #20 - It's My Friday! in These Foolish Things

  • Nov. 20, 2022, 8:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Not much to write about today except I did a looonggg six hour shift that was really seven for various reasons - mainly they schedule additional time for breaks, etc. and THEN the time it takes to get out of the giant parking garage at closing time is ridiculous. And it’s only going to get worse for Black Friday and beyond. I’m fine as long as I make sure I take all of that into consideration. It’s not fun when I’m trying to get home to my baby girl (Martini), but as long as I have patience, it’s doable.

As you can imagine, I work with a lot of young kids just out of high school and some in college and some working other jobs, etc. These are literally the nicest and smartest bunch you can imagine. And they are SO supportive of me, the newbie! They help me with all of the little tasks we need to do, and they help me find things and they even joke around with me. I’m honored to be part of this group of people.

And there are others - there are several older folks like me. Today I introduced myself to a dapper gray-haired man who’s been a career guy there for years and years. Also the friendliest guy! And I have been working closely with an older woman (a Navy Vet) as well as another woman maybe my age who just moved here from Paris (she just married an American man) and is working the store to get out and meet people and practice her English. And there’s even an older guy who wears an eye patch and spends most of his time straightening things!

I’d say that in addition to the great fashion, the best thing I like about this gig is the staff. The least thing I like is the register (mainly because it stresses me out to have people waiting and staring at me to ring them up and wrap their goods), and some of the customers. Most are fine, but…you know.

Anyway, I have tomorrow and Tuesday off, then I work a long-ass day on Wednesday (don’t get off until 8pm!), and then Thursday is Thanksgiving! AND THEN....drum roll…

B.L.A.C.K. F.R.I.D.A.Y!!!!!! And I’ll be working a full 8-hour shift. Yikes.

This holiday season is sure moving along, isn’t it??

Happy weekend to me!
GS


Jinn November 20, 2022

It sounds like you are doing great .

WhatDreamsMayCome November 20, 2022

It is! I'm working on decorations this week. I took the whole week off to focus on it. Fortunately the weather is cooperating!
Great that the staff is so supportive!

Complicated Disaster November 21, 2022

Good colleagues are what it's all about! Good luck for Black Friday! xx

sudare November 21, 2022

That’s nice to have people who are supportive of you.

bobbi01 November 21, 2022

OMG you are going to have some amazing stories to tell about Black Friday. All we ever see here is a news article of people storming Walmarts :)

plushcreep November 23, 2022

I still have nightmares about working retail Black Fridays, and it's been...ugh, too many years to count. Good luck! I'm sure your positive attitude will help.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.