NJM #16 - Act Your Wage in These Foolish Things

  • Nov. 17, 2022, 1:22 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Day #3 at the retail salt mines. Ha! I’m only working 4-hour shifts right now, so they are really quite easy, save for all of the new stuff about devices and people talking in my ear and figuring out what is what.

Today, a fellow redhead taught me how to make transactions on the register, how to maintain the cash wrap (absolutely nothing allowed on the cash wrap - it must be spotless at all times!), and how to sign people up for the loyalty card/points. It was a lot.

And then she taught me a magical phrase: “Act Your Wage”

See, we don’t make enough $$$ to stress and let stuff like this get to us. The difficult stuff is all on the managers. They are paid to handle the heavy load. I immediately felt the stress lift from my shoulders.

I enjoyed my training today after I learned that simple phrase. It has become my mantra.

I also have tomorrow off!
It was a good day.
GS


Complicated Disaster November 17, 2022

What's a cash wrap? Xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ November 17, 2022

The till. Where you bring the merchandise to be rung up and purchased. It looks kind of like a bar. The bar must always be clean!

Complicated Disaster Ginger Snap ⋅ November 17, 2022

Ohhhhh. Got it! Xx

bobbi01 November 17, 2022

I need that painted in 20 foot letters behind my desk.....brilliant!

Jinn November 17, 2022

Everyone should :-)

Athena November 17, 2022

How fun!

plushcreep November 17, 2022

I've never heard that before but I love it, too! Hope to be able to use it myself someday.

WhatDreamsMayCome November 17, 2022

Sounds like you're enjoying yourself!
(And learning along the way.) ;-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.