NJM #15 - The Thrill Ride Continues in These Foolish Things

  • Nov. 15, 2022, 10:13 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today was my day off from my holiday retail gig. Here’s what happened:

  • I emailed Utah Home Decor company to ask them about the status of my reimbursement of the trip expenses (esp. for stinky hotel bill - though I never said a word), and it seems that I missed an email from the hiring manager about needing my home address so I sent that to him and added the part about how I’m still very interested in furthering our discussion. He came back and said, “Unfortunately, it is becoming clearer and clearer to us that we need someone in the office.” I probably should have just let it go and not even replied, but I did thank him for being upfront about it (glad they didn’t ghost after all) and to let me know if they find they need someone out in the marketplace, willing to travel, and continuously bringing fresh ideas to the table. I told him that I hope our paths cross again and wished him the best of luck. I did. Does that seem like a dick email? I don’t know. It was sincere but I think it could come across as resentful. But who even cares at this point?

  • Had a Zoom interview with the head of HR for another company that I’m not excited about. The interview went very well. Why is that always the case? HR is setting up a meeting with the hiring manager - possibly in person? This job would be local…ish. I think their office might be a 45 minute commute in traffic but it’s a hybrid role (3 days in the office). Meh.

  • Then tried for the umpteenth time to connect with this ditsy recruiter who always, always gets our times wrong. She sets the appointments and then spaces and misses the meetings. We finally connected only for her to tell me that the British company I talked with two weeks ago has put the position on hold.

  • But THEN I talked with the fashion company I’ve been targeting for YEARS and we’ve set up an in-person quick meeting on Thursday!! It’s a brief coffee meeting with their head of HR, but she said she was going to be able to introduce me to the hiring manager while I’m there. I’m high-key EXCITED about this one and ready to knock their socks off!

  • And THEN!!! I have a Teams interview scheduled with another home products/hospitality company that has the potential to be a fantastic opportunity, but I’m not quite sure about the actual level of the job, so I might knock myself out of this one. On the plus side, I could practically walk to their office! I almost suggested we meet in person, but I didn’t want to complicate anything. If the Teams meeting goes well, I’ll tell them I’ll come see them.

  • And THENNNNNN I was contacted today by another recruiting firm who wondered if I’d be interested in a Home Decor opportunity. I wrote them back and told them that their timing was impeccable. But before we went any further, they asked me to sign an NDA. Which is fine - it was your standard NDA just saying whatever is said during our conversations is confidential. I am pretty sure I know this company, but maybe they are working on some kind of exciting licensing agreement with a big celebrity or something! Anyway, we are talking on Thursday as well.

But tomorrow I will go back to my retail stylist job and try to figure out how to do the damn thing! Day 3 on the job, here we come!!!

Ever hopeful,
GS


bobbi01 November 15, 2022

You know they are all going to peak at the same time eh?

Satine November 16, 2022

I think it's a great email - positive and focuses on what you could provide! So excited for all these other options for you! <3

Complicated Disaster November 16, 2022

Like the others I completely agree that your email was great. It never hurts to leave the door open! Massive massive good luck with the fashion company!! Xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ November 16, 2022

Thank you thank you!! I'm very excited. I've been sending out so many applications and I've targeted this company for so long that I had to go back and look for my application for this role. I couldn't find it. It must be that they went back and looked at previous applications/cover letters to see that I've had a long interest and then contacted me!

WhatDreamsMayCome November 16, 2022

I'd say it was a very good email.
You can never have too many options.
(And I can never decide!) ;-)

Fawkes Gal November 16, 2022

Whoo, excited you've got lots of opportunities coming in!

Jinn November 16, 2022

That was a very good, upbeat email. They are missing out .
So many things are opening up to being possibilities for you . It’s exciting! I am pulling for you ( keeping you in my prayers) whatever happens !

plushcreep November 16, 2022

The part I love best is "continuously bringing fresh ideas to the table." Boom! Slightly snarky but also very confident. Well played!

ninakir88 November 18, 2022

job searching has been a crazy journey for you.. i cant believe how shitty some of these companies act. sending good luck your way..

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.