one day in TIME Flies and other Thoughts

  • Nov. 15, 2022, 12:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Every time I sign in, I am reminded of my ever growing draft list that I have yet to Post. One of these days I might start posting drafts saved from 2015 to the tune of about 60 posts! Most were written in 2020 & 2021.
Some is old news. Some is thoughts about things, some is… I guess not worthy of posting (IMO) which is why it is still in my drafts. And some after I wrote it, I saved to private.

It is NoJoMo time. I have been doing it ever since it 2000 or 2001 on the OD. Then I did it on here since 2018 and now I just do it on Facebook. My friends and family look forward to this time every year with great anticipation. It is fun to read their answers.

Today I call Bingo at a Senior Center. It was requested for months to restart it and they wanted ME to come back and do it and now that I agreed, hardly anyone comes. I think it is going to fold. I actually am good with that. I do it for them, and not because this is something I really want to do because my weekdays are filled to the brim of activities I enjoy more.

It is a sunny day today, which is delightful, but it is also 40 degrees. I really dislike Winter. There is nothing good about it except maybe it causes you to rest more because you don’t want to go out in the cold. Although I do because my social life is super important!

On Tuesdays at one of the Thrift stores is Senior day, everything is half off. I want to look at Books, Games and Jigsaw Puzzles. I have not been there in months.
Every other week I have a friend over who doesn’t go out much since Covid, due to her own health issues, and another gal in her 90’s who just lost her husband a few months ago… they both come over to do Jigsaw Puzzles. We like the 300-500 piece puzzles. I have already gone through all the puzzles at the Senior Center, I need more. Buying them new is costly.

Books, do I need anymore? and I got a bunch on hold at the library. I am looking for a few for my Mom, but also there are authors I enjoy that I would get for 25 or 50 cents if I saw it.
And then Games, I have more than I can play or do, but if there was something unique and new looking and occasionally there is, I would get it for about a buck.

I knew a gal in Phoenix in 2003-2007 who bought all her clothes at a place called SAVERS. She dressed like a million bucks every day. She bought the on-Sale Items. A Buck here and a buck there and before long her closets were full.
I had never stepped foot in a Thrift Store until I met that gal.

There are treasures to be found at a Thrift Store!


ConnieK November 16, 2022

Some local libraries carry jigsaw puzzles, so look there. I have three I want to start. Maybe after Thanksgiving. The second hand shops here are wonderful for finding designer clothing.

crystal butterfly November 17, 2022

I have some items from Savers.

Hotaru November 17, 2022

I was going to say check the library, but I see someone else already has. My library has puzzles and board games. I love puzzles but I just don’t have the time right now.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.