NJM #14 - Day 2 on the JOB in These Foolish Things

  • Nov. 14, 2022, 7:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Whoa. Working retail sure is different now than it was back in the day.

Today was the first day on the sales floor and MAN, was it a LOT.

First, I was put with a sales stylist named Sied. Apparently, he is the #1 sales employee in the entire company! And that is saying a lot because this company is MASSIVE. He is amazing and was so very supportive of my efforts. He kept telling me what a great job I was doing even though I know I was a complete disaster.

But see, the thing is that in today’s retail environment, technology seems to have progressed light years since I was on a sales floor.

In today’s environment, you have to be strapped to a headset and a walkie-talkie to communicate with everybody on the floor. THEN you have to have an iphone that’s hooked up to a scanner so that you can do EVERYTHING with it. From clocking in, to checking on merchandise to signing people up for credit cards and loyalty points. You can even check them out from the phone if they have a credit card.

But THEN you deal with the actual customers: greeting people, helping them with product, taking them to a fitting room, picking out lewks, getting new sizes, making sure you’re watching their every move.

And the store employees are talking in your ear the whole time!

And THEN you have to know how to ring them up and tastefully package the merchandise just right with tissue paper and stickers and a beautiful bag.

I know I’ll get this eventually, but I’m still not quite familiar with all of the product this large store carries. I know I told some people the wrong thing today just because I was trying to guess in the moment. Note to self: don’t guess! Another note to self: walk the whole floor at least twice before you clock in on Wednesday.

I have tomorrow off.

I’m definitely going to need it to decompress.

Nighty-night, shoppers!
GS


Complicated Disaster November 14, 2022

The staff at my resort in Crete all had headsets too. It made it really difficult to communicate with them sometimes because they just couldn't hear you! Xx

Satine November 14, 2022

Sounds very high tech and full on! Rest well and I'm sure you'll have the swing of things soon!

bobbi01 November 15, 2022

Wow. I'd love to shop somewhere with the fancy tissue paper.

Jinn November 15, 2022

Wow! That does sound complicated . You have my admiration for tackling that ! Rest today !

Mr. Mofo November 15, 2022

How many people are taalking at you at once? Do they realize they are just taking your attention away from the costomoer?

WhatDreamsMayCome November 15, 2022

So is the title of 'sales stylist' just a rebranding of 'sales rep'?

Fawkes Gal November 15, 2022

Geez. That sounds like a lot to ask of a beginner!

colder November 15, 2022 (edited November 15, 2022)

Edited

I did a stint at a menswear store when I was younger and I really kind of enjoyed it. I learned everything about suits and could pretty much tell what someone was going to want within a minute or two. Plus I got to wear them to work which is something I miss. Hope you enjoy this - I’m sure they could find no one better anywhere 🙂

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.