NJM #10 - It's Beginning To Look... in These Foolish Things

  • Nov. 10, 2022, 9:26 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today I promised my parents I’d meet them at their church for the big annual Holiday fundraising event where they have a big craft sale and a big charity lunch set up like a restaurant. It’s always such a cute thing to attend (I’ve gone every year for about 10 years), and I see the same old people just getting older and older. WOW. It’s sometimes shocking to see how much people have aged!

But these old folks are my parents’ community and they keep mom and dad going and for that I’m grateful. This community also sent me cards, gifts and sweet messages while I was going through cancer treatment…though many of them are/were in just as dire straits as I was last year.

ANYWAY. The point of all of this is to say, I always buy several pretty Christmas ornaments and amazing jellies/jams and other concoctions at this event and this year was no different. My mom tried to buy things for me, but I refused and told her about my upcoming retail gig, so she didn’t need to feel sorry for me, ha!

I brought my goodies home and started a project that I knew was going to be inevitable, but I didn’t think I’d actually make such a big mess: I pulled out all of my Holiday decorations!

Oh my gawd, what an undertaking.

I’m actually glad that tomorrow it’s supposed to be yucky, cold and rainy outside so I’ll be all warm inside and I’ll turn on Christmas music and get my decorating done - or at least a major dent in the project.

I do love this time of year! I love getting all of the sparklies and pretties out and rearranging some of the furniture to make things fit in different configurations. It’s never the same thing twice so it’s kind of like a pretty puzzle.

I’m looking forward to tomorrow. I’ll turn this place from Summer to Winter Wonderland!

And nooooo, it’s not Santa’s workshop or anything like that. My decor is greenery with mixed metallics. I’m going to try to sprinkle in a little animal print here and there this year just to shake things up a bit.

And I wanted to buy a new tree - something more simple and Scandinavian looking. I would love to have a tree that looks more like these trees than ornate and over the top trees.

But I’m on a budget, so I will have to just keep putting my ideas together on a Pinterest board rather than springing for a whole new tree with all new decorations.

Instead, I’ll just stick with my dress form tree again this year. She’s worked very well for me the last several years, although this year, a friend suggested that I add angel wings to her, and I’m actually trying to figure out how to do that!

Goodnight, my angels.
GS


Jinn November 10, 2022

I love your dress form tree and adding wings would be wonderful ! Those Scandinavian trees are very pretty but I can’t resist using my decorations I have collected through the years . They are not as artistic but they are old friends. I love the idea of lots of greenery , silver , prisms and white lights.I also have to have a poinsettia or two, a Christmas cactus , a Norfolk pine , some amaryllis , and ivies scattered about . You know I am all about the plants. :-)
The holiday craft show sounds lovely . I will decorate after Thanksgiving. This place needs a good scrub before that and rearranged . We need some pictures of your decorating . :-)

Complicated Disaster November 11, 2022

I'm sure your decorations will look amazing, even on a budget!! xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ November 11, 2022

You're sweet. Maybe I'll do a Treehouse Tour when I'm done!

Complicated Disaster Ginger Snap ⋅ November 11, 2022

Yes! Please do!! xx

pandora November 11, 2022

Green, metallics, and animal prints sounds like such a fun holiday decor theme!!

Ginger Snap pandora ⋅ November 11, 2022

I'm going to have to really plan this out, though. Animal prints can get really tacky on a tree if you're not careful!

Palmtreesandzebras November 11, 2022

I love both trees!!

The dress form tree is such a great idea, but I the Scandinavian one is very relaxing to look at.

WhatDreamsMayCome November 11, 2022

The tree looks great.

Ginger Snap WhatDreamsMayCome ⋅ November 11, 2022

Thank you!!

sudare November 13, 2022

I can see people around me get older, too. It’s a harsh reality!!

bobbi01 November 15, 2022

I love fair's like that. Haven't bought jam from a supermarket for years.

Serin November 23, 2022

That's a genuinely awesome tree. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.