NJM #8 - The Stinky Hotel Review in These Foolish Things

  • Nov. 8, 2022, 8:24 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Remember how I stayed in a super gross hotel in Utah last week when the home decor/home fragrance company flew me out for a job interview?

Well, this morning I got an email from the hotel’s corporate office asking me to review my stay.

I decided to take them up on it, and I literally cut and pasted my PB entry! I sure did! I told them that this is what I wrote in my journal and just sent the damn thing verbatim!

So the front desk manager got back to me within an hour and apologized profusely for the sub-standard stay. He/She (couldn’t tell by the name) told me that my message was relayed back to the whole staff and that they would strive to do better and yada yada yada.

I thought about it, and I felt so bad because it wasn’t the staff’s fault at all! In fact, the front desk guy went above and beyond for me and did the very best he could do by upgrading my room to a bigger one, thinking that it would resolve the issue.

I wrote back to the front desk manager stating the above - it wasn’t the staff, it was that the hotel is just woefully outdated and in need of a good razing and a brand new hotel do-over.

I hope that message gets back to corporate!! They should be ashamed of themselves. I know that hotel is licensed out to a giant corporation, and it’s their Big Brand name on the outside of the building and they really need to know how much less I think of their brand for not paying attention.

Anyway.

It’s Tuesday and no word back from the Utah company regarding the position . I know they were meeting yesterday with their parent company and part of that was to talk about the role and my proposal for a remote gig. I hope those guys from the parent company did not stay in the Stinky Hotel because if they did, they were likely in foul moods all day.

In other news, I had two interviews today with companies from within my recent area of business, and that was good. I could speak with authority and I was also a lot less stressed for some reason. I didn’t have a feeling of desperation like I have in other recent interviews.

The first interview was a phone call with a recruiter I’ve spoken with a few months ago. Seems the company had pulled back the original opportunity during the summer when we last spoke but was now ready to seriously discuss filling the role in the immediate future. Had an easy, breezy conversation and the recruiter said he definitely wanted to present me to the company and he’d be in touch.

The second interview was a Zoom call for a marketing role with a British company. I’d spoken with their recruiter a couple of weeks ago and they presented me to the company last week while I was traveling/interviewing in Utah. The person I spoke with today was the hiring manager and we had fantastic chemistry! This would obviously be a remote position - the company has employees all over the world, so the hours could possibly get a little wonky, but that’s nothing I haven’t dealt with seeing as I’ve worked with factories in Asia and their time is opposite of ours.

I don’t see either one of the above positions becoming my forever job, but either one of them would work for me in this current situation. That would give me time to start earning a cash flow again and keep my eyes on the lookout for a better gig.

And you never know…maybe since I feel so comfortable and confident with these folks…who knows what could happen?

Pretty good stuff, my friends. Could this be the week that things start really moving?

Did you guys feel the lunar eclipse last night? It is supposed to have been a biggie and it’s supposed to bring major change. I feel that! I feel like things are finally kind of falling into place. It feels kind of exciting in a weird way. And I feel strangely at peace.

Maybe it’s time,
GS


Jinn November 08, 2022

Fingers and toes crossed for you !

Ginger Snap Jinn ⋅ November 09, 2022

Thank you! I need the juju!

Complicated Disaster November 09, 2022

It's definitely time! Fingers crossed!! <3 xx

pandora November 09, 2022

Perhaps taking the retail job is getting the 'flow' back in your life, job-wise. I have a good feeling for you too. And I'm glad that you sent that review, but yeah... sounds like it has nothing to do with the staff and everything to do with the fact that it needs a major facelift!

WhatDreamsMayCome November 09, 2022

May your starlight never be eclipsed! ;-)

Satine November 09, 2022

Things are moving! Great stuff!

plushcreep November 10, 2022

I didn't feel the lunar eclipse, but I saw it. Pretty moving in that regard!

Ginger Snap plushcreep ⋅ November 10, 2022

Yeah, I saw pics. They don't do justice!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.