Just over it. in (W)hole

  • Nov. 9, 2022, 6:05 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

SIIIIIIIIIIGH. My job is really stressing me out.
Which is sad, because I’ve always really loved my job.
Now I’m looking for pretty much ANY other job possible… it’s tough, though, because my position now is so niche.. not a lot of other companies have this particular job title. So it’s been tough to find something that I have experience with.
I can’t wait to write a resignation letter, because I really think I’ll pour out my heart. The man who owns and runs the company has changed so much over the last 5 years. When I first started, he was there every day. He worked with students. He put in the time and the effort and he rallied the staff to support our clients when they needed it, and directed us on how to support them best, what not to say, what to focus on. He was in there, in the trenches, so to speak.. doing the day to day hard work. With us. And when I would be close to losing my motivation, or when I’d be starting to feel burnt out, he’d bring all of us together and remind us why we do the work we do, and how it’s benefiting our clients, and how it doesn’t always feel like it matters but it DOES. He removed the pressure that mental health care staff tends to put on themselves, he told us we weren’t responsible for every aspect of their lives, even though it felt like we were. He was inspiring. Strong. Supportive. He had a vision. He needed us to help him see it through.

And now. He travels about 11 months out of the year, never misses a college basketball game anywhere in the country, goes to wine country, goes skiing, goes surfing, goes snorkeling, does weird obscure sports, and is never at the office. That would be fine, and I really mean this, IF we had leadership in place that could run this company while he’s not there. We don’t. We’ve had a ton of people quit from various positions over the last year or two, and it’s gotten kinda ugly. I’ve interviewed for other places over the last couple years, but I haven’t been offered anything worth taking. And I do realize that I’m in a unique position, I make salary and I barely work more than half time. I show up and leave when I want, I set my own schedule, I work from home or wherever whenever I feel like it. I realize this is UNHEARD OF. I also occasionally go out boating on the lake in the sun as part of my work week. But it’s starting to feel like the people who are there in person most days are trying to keep the whole company going with tape and glue and sticks. I’m burnt out and I’m ovvvvvvvvvvvver it. SIIGH. I’m really upset about it, too. I have loved this job for so long. And then people started leaving. And now it’s sad.

There’s also been a lot of uproar about payscales and things lately. We had a massive therapist walk out because people were told they didn’t retain enough clients so they didn’t get their yearly raises or people hadn’t worked enough hours to be eligible for their review/raise. Nobody was making enough money, so everyone left. Our receptionist makes 17.50 and I know for a fact the Boise location receptionists make 19. She knows it too. One of my newly hired (June!) co-workers also recently made a comment that made it sound like she makes more money than I do. I’ve been there 5 years. I’d be pissed if that was true.

SO I didn’t ask any follow up questions. Because I’d have been real mad.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.