Crafting in Daily Writing

  • Nov. 7, 2022, 4:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I craft. Those two words seem so simple in combination, but they mean so much more. What does “crafter” mean? I knit and sew. I embroider. Those words are plain, simplistic, bland. What does it mean to be a crafter?

Standing around in Walmart today we found these little Polaroid cameras. One was tiny, just the right size to fit in a purse or sachel. It makes the smallest Polaroid pictures I know. Looking at that small camera, just the right size to fit in the palm of a hand, I thought about my childhood memories of Polaroid photography. Polaroid represented the cheapest of photography, that which could be used conveniently by the poor, photos that didn’t need to be sent in for development. The innovation of digital photography removed the need for Polaroid instant pictures. Now Polaroid photographers create art, with a sense of nostalgic drama impossible with the current digital options.

What is knitting in a day where sweaters can be cheaply made by machine? Knitters create art. They take yarn and twist each loop into the next to create these beautiful garments, accessories, and toys. Each item speaks of a story, the tale of the creator, the process, and the materials all pulled into one beautiful result. Knitting takes time, patience, and coordination, but the results stun audiences who know how to appreciate them. Often going shopping with one of my handcrafted items results in compliments from strangers who want to know where I purchased such a lovely piece. I receive comments of surprise when I casually state I made them myself.

Sewing fades from recent skills, though it grows more each year with the plentiful inspirations on YouTube. Stories come from each garment made, whether a hand sewn dress or a jacket whipped up on a machine. Sewing became a forgotten skill with the easy opportunity to shop any item you like online. The need to make garments to match your personal flare and style was replaced by plentiful options provided by countless designers.

Embroidery fell out of favor as one can simply order items printed or embroidered and ready. People don’t know how to care for embroidered items, so shirts can warp in the wash, resulting in a fantastic design that now looks warped and curled, necessitating ironing to look best. Most people no longer iron their garments, even though it improves the look. Why take the time to painstakingly design and apply an image to a garment when you can simply purchase it already made?

These skills create art now. Instead of being used for practical life needs, creators inspire with beautiful garments and interesting designs. Being a crafter means wearing your art. It means using your art in your home. Countless items can be made, personal and individulalized for the purpose of expression. In an age where life skills no longer support live, those skills become an art that shocks and astounds others. It shows so much about the wearer, and speaks to their love of what they do. It reveals a little piece of the creator that is often obscured by the necessities of modern life.

With pride I announce my status as a creator. I make wearable art. I make pieces that tell a story. A story originates from the first purchase of the item to the last time it was worn. The garment came forth from the basest of supplies. I manupulate each item in my hands until it becomes something wonderful, a dress, a wrap, a quilted petticoat. Each item provides a purpose, but the story follows it through every day of use. Each time I wrap myself in a garment I think of the time spent crafting it, working it in my hands until it became something beautiful, useful, and often warm and comforting. It provides a sense of security, peace, happiness, and tranquility. It conjures wonderful memories.

A crafter is more than an artist. In that regard, crafters create magic in the form of something worn, loved, and full of memories.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.