Can't get away from neighbors. in 30 day, de-clutter challenge.

  • Nov. 6, 2022, 11:43 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Over the years, I have mentioned several times having issues with neighbors. Nothing major, just that some were noisy, nosy, or annoying.

So you’d think I would get a break now that I’m in the middle of nowhere.

Nope.

There is a small house at the end of my three hundred feet long driveway. Since I owned this place, it has gone through three owners.

The latest one is the people who own the closest property to my right (if facing my house) and the property behind mine. They surround me on three sides now.
I have not met the neighbor to my left (if facing my house). They are the ones I’m curious about because their house is very nice. It’s big, with a paved driveway you don’t see around here. They don’t seem to live here full-time either, but I do see their gate open about once a week.

They are weekenders, so they only come out here occasionally.

These are the people who have been super friendly to me. They’ve kept my grass in check by mowing it and have often invited me to come up to have some drinks while they were up here.

Don’t get me wrong; it’s nice that they’re nice. But maybe too nice? So nice that I can’t help but wonder what’s up.
The only time I met them for a few minutes, they did ask if I would sell them a right of way so they could walk to their property behind me. I wasn’t sure about that because I’m unsure if I could legally still use my shooting area that the right of way would be next to.

After all the moving and stress, I wanted a day to do very little. I was still going to sort some of the shit I wanted to throw out, but not much more. I have four days off starting today, but the neighbors have come to their place for at least the weekend.

I noticed their car Friday night, so Saturday, when I got up, I sent them a text letting them know that I saw that they were here and that I’ll come down to say hi if it’s ok with them on Sunday since I had to work Saturday.

Today is Sunday, and I’m not in the mood.

The guy is out there riding his lawn mower, and if he comes up this way to mow my lawn again, I’m afraid I might have to go outside already.
It’s only 1230pm.

Can’t I get a little break from people? I mean, for fuck’s sake, I’m in the middle of nowhere.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s good to know at least someone around here, and I might even enjoy socializing with them once I get to learn more about who they are.

Just not yet this weekend. Not yet.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.