NJM #5 - Doing Stuff and Yet Not in These Foolish Things

  • Nov. 6, 2022, 8:59 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Oh my lord, I just spent a couple of HOURS online fucking around with some crazy survey bullshit. I somehow came across a website or IG post or something talking about how to make easy money just answering survey questions so I got curious.

I googled the survey website to make sure it was legit, and sure enough it is (it’s called Go Branded in case you’re curious), and I set up a profile and started trying to take these online surveys.

I took a bunch of surveys and started racking up these points that you then can cash in once you get 500 points (it’s $1.00 per 100 points, so…). What I didn’t realize is how long it would take to get to 500 points.

The problem is, you have to answer qualifying questions before you can even take the survey and I was disqualified for about 50% of the surveys I was trying to take, so that was totally time consuming.

Bottom line, it took me two hours to make $5.23!

Guess I better savor that Starbucks latte that I buy with my earnings.

Anyway. I didn’t sleep well last night. I’m bothered by the fact that we’re heading into the holidays and I still don’t have a job lined up. I’ve got some other opportunities in the pipeline, but nothing has solidified and companies are actually going into hiring freeze mode.

I still feel fairly strong about the Home Decor/Fragrance company (see: Utah trip a couple of entries back) and potentially working out a remote deal with them, but it’s not even as “definite” as the opportunity at my previous company (where I’m pretty sure they red-flagged me for being a cancer survivor).

As long as I do not have an offer in writing IN MY HANDS, I do not have a job, so. Ugh. It’s just troubling. And it’s affecting my sleep. I think other things are messing with my sleep as well, but the job thing is clearly the major issue.

[sidebar: I did buy a Powerball ticket, so there’s still a faraway glimmer of hope…]

And tomorrow we set the clocks back and it will be getting dark at 5:45 and that’s just freaking depressing. Of course, it’s not like it’s a surprise or anything - this happens every year, but I just don’t like going into the holidays and the end of a calendar year this year with zero income coming in and my body just barely out of disease mode.

On a related note, I’m ready to decorate for the holidays! I’m ready to put up the tree(s) and string the lights and welcome people over to my place for good tidings and cheer. My next door neighbor’s balcony connects with mine and she’s going to get the same string lights I have so we can have a great big lighting display on our balconies, and I’m just so ready for all of the twinkly lights outside the Treehouse.

It’s just that it feels so strange this year.
GS


WhatDreamsMayCome November 06, 2022

Wishing you restful sleep.
I also started with some Christmas decorations this weekend.

bobbi01 November 06, 2022

The lights arrangement sounds cool. It's hard, but keep the faith, something will find you.

Complicated Disaster November 07, 2022

Fingers crossed for the job!! xx

plushcreep November 09, 2022

Holy crap, even...34 years ago, when I got my first shitty minimum wage job in high school...I was making more per hour than you earned taking those surveys!

Ginger Snap plushcreep ⋅ November 09, 2022

I know. A couple hours of my time I'll never get back.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.