NJM #2 - Sleep Deprivation in These Foolish Things

  • Nov. 2, 2022, 9 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m home from my adventure in Utah.

I had to get up at 2:15 this morning in order to get everything packed back up, check out of the nasty fleabag hotel, drive the rental car from Provo to Salt Lake City, gas up the car, get to the airport and walk nearly two miles to the gate in order to make a 6:00am flight.

Once I landed, I had to take the train to get to the gate where my car was parked and then I had to drive all the way down to my old office because my sweet former coworker had taken care of Martini while I was gone. I needed to go pick her up.

When I got to the office, a BUNCH of former work buds came out to say hi and we all ended up going for a walk around the little park area - one of the secret places I used to walk Martini to get away from all of the work stress. It’s no longer a secret, though. Obvi.

Oh well. I’m no longer there anyway, so who cares?

I saw my former boss for a bit. What a dick. We said hi and were nice to each other, but it’s still strange. Weird thing is, I don’t feel any emotion about it. I’m not even mad. I just feel like, oh well…that’s a part of my life that I don’t have to worry about any more!

After all of that, I drove home to the Treehouse. Oh my gosh, it was sooooooo nice to come home to a beautiful, clean living space. The light was streaming in the windows and it smelled delicious and everything was in its place and I was so happy to be home.

And now I’m just too tired to write about last night’s dinner with the prospective new boss, his wife and one of the sales execs. I don’t have the energy.

Let’s just say that the talks are still underway. The boss guy (not ready to give him a name just yet) sent me a powerpoint deck of the plans for this new position, so the fact that I said no to relocation during our discussion clearly wasn’t a dealbreaker. Otherwise there’s no way he would have sent me the deck.

More to follow. I was asked to write about the disgusting hotel, but I don’t even want to conjure up the thought of it at this time. All I want to do is go to bed, and so I will.

Anyway, we’re already deep into November. I already ate some sugar today, but I’m writing that off as travel stress.

Tomorrow is another day, folks. More time to write and get back on the wagon!

G’nite,
GS


Satine November 02, 2022

Oh man, the photos looked beautiful but this is just a lot. I really hope something great comes through soon, whether it's this or something else. <3

Complicated Disaster November 03, 2022

Oh man. That's a long, long day!! xx

Jinn November 03, 2022

Rest and then tell us the rest! :-)

sudare November 03, 2022

Have some rest and write more!!

CharminglyNeurotic November 03, 2022

Well at least you had an adventure and saw some beautiful stuff. Also I feel like if they paid to fly you there and spend all that time with you, that it's very likely they will want to make you an offer. They must be very serious. Hopefully they will allow you to work remotely but perhaps ask you to fly there in person bimonthly or something like that...

plushcreep November 03, 2022

That sounds like a long day. Hope you got some good rest!

Ginger Snap plushcreep ⋅ November 03, 2022

Took me all yesterday and most of today!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.