And If That Weren't Enough... in These Foolish Things

  • Oct. 28, 2022, 11:26 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I sent an email to the hiring manager (my former boss) of my last missed opportunity (see my last few entries) to see if he would provide me with any insight as to why I wasn’t chosen for the role after he nearly promised it to me. I asked if he could provide an open and candid explanation for what happened there. I was actually very surprised when he answered asking if he could call me today. I told him yes, but I don’t know what time he’s going to call - IF he actually does call. Stay tuned.

But I’m also trying to push on. I’m working really hard to move past all of my recent learnings and findings and just keep working to get my next big, wonderful, perfect job.

And I’ve been networking, right? I’ve been in touch with my circle of former colleagues, some other companies, and even a member of the private equity company that used to own my former company (one of the guys stays in touch here and there just to check in).

So this guy Paul was a member of the private equity firm that, for a time, owned my former company. And these PE guys were pretty involved and would come to the offices quite a bit - at least once a quarter. And when the owners come, you know, you’re on your best behavior and you’re all smiles, right? Almost like giving a presentation or something.

But to make matters a little more difficult, this guy is smoking hot and I feel like I have been potentially kind of blushy around him, but always, ALWAYS professional.

Anyway, Paul and I have been connected on LinkedIn for years. And we’ve been messaging back and forth for a while - since I lost my job, he’s been talking about helping me find something else and I thought maybe his connections could help. He’s talked with me about possibly meeting up to share ideas, and even said that he might be in town next week and wanted to see if I wanted to meet to discuss.

Here is our exchange:

alt text

alt text

So yeah. I am so freaking naive!!!!

I’m not 100% sure, but I am confident that he’s married.

And look. The texts are super flattering on the one hand - but as a woman trying desperately to be taken seriously, this exchange made me feel the following feels all at the same time:

  • confused
  • excited
  • disappointed
  • sad
  • worried
  • embarrassed
  • horrified
  • mad
  • unsure

…the list goes on. It’s so hard to figure out how to handle things like these - especially after yesterday’s discouraging discovery.

WHY WON’T ANYONE TAKE ME SERIOUSLY?????

Anyway. I have a lot more to say, but a lot to do right now, so I’ll just leave that here and be back later.

Ever your faithful,
GS


Last updated October 28, 2022


Parliament October 28, 2022

This makes me insanely angry. He's not going to help you.

Athena Parliament ⋅ October 28, 2022

correct. he will help you into bed. he will not help you find a job. i would forget him.

Complicated Disaster October 28, 2022

Ugh xx

bobbi01 October 28, 2022

Oh the ick!

pandora October 28, 2022

Fuck. Off. Paul.

Nash October 28, 2022

What the who? Who the what?

The Rocky Mountain October 28, 2022

Yuck!

colder October 28, 2022

barffffffffffff

Perpetually Plump October 28, 2022

He's a dick, which means that you should use the shit out of him. If he can get you hooked up with the job, great! I would keep using him for his resources but keep walking that line and not letting it go too far. What a douche canoe.

CharminglyNeurotic October 28, 2022

This is the way my mind works: Get me a job, Paul, or I show your wife these texts. ;-) How's that for a good flirt?

plushcreep October 29, 2022

Great. Yet another guy who gives men a bad name. Sigh.

ninakir88 October 29, 2022

yeah that actually pisses me off

sudare November 01, 2022

You had so many mixed feelings.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.