I Think I Know. in These Foolish Things

  • Oct. 27, 2022, 6:17 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

For context of what I’m about to say, please see previous entry. I don’t have a lot of time, but this has been on my heart and just bothering the HELL out of me, so I’m going to cut to the bottom line.

At this point, I’m pretty sure I know why I haven’t gotten the job offer that I’m needing so badly. The previous job was the kicker. I was all but promised and awarded that job.

After ruminating on the issue and via some private notes with a fellow PBer who is 100% knowledgeable on the issue, I came to a pretty solid conclusion of why I don’t get the offers. And it starts with a C.

So, because I have to leave in a minute for a fun event with friends that I’m excited about, I just want to quickly say something: For all intents and purposes, to a prospective employer, my cancer never, ever existed. Nope. Never.

I have locked down my FB to friends ONLY, and prospective employers can peruse my Instagram to their hearts’ content, because guess what? All evidence of cancer has been deleted.

That’s right, you won’t see an inspirational thought, a photo of me plugged into Foxy, the ball of chemo. No ring of the bell, or my friends surrounding me in celebration of the end of treatment. No bathroom mirror selfies hooked up to all of the tubes and bags; no video stories of how nervous I am to get my scan results. To employers, I am a happy, healthy workhorse. I am ready, willing and able to take on issues and raise their profits!

I am nobody’s RED FLAG, do you hear me???

Starting from scratch,
GS


bobbi01 October 27, 2022

That is shocking, but also very believable in todays cut throat world.

Jinn October 27, 2022

I bet you are right . Also if you are fifty or over that age is held against applicants , although companies will never admit it .

Firebabe October 27, 2022

The sad thing is that my first thought was "No way," but then the second thought (right after that) was "Yeeeeah. I can totally see Corporate America pulling that crap." 😥 As shitty as it is, you probably did the right thing by "cleaning" your social media.

Satine October 27, 2022

I'm so sorry - this is truly awful but you're probably right (also if the jobs were filled by internal people, wouldn't their jobs be open now too?) I'm so angry for you but still crossing everything for something good ahead for you.

Nash October 28, 2022

Sad, but likely you have assessed it correctly.

pandora October 28, 2022

Oooooh, good point. I would NOT have thought of that, but I bet you're onto something. Shitty, but likely!

Fawkes Gal October 28, 2022

Ugh. That is horrible, but you're probably right. :-( I hate the corporate world so much.

Deleted user October 28, 2022

It can also be age discrimination. I don't put the year of my college graduation on my resume, and I only include the last 15 years of my career.

Speaking of C and age, that C could be anything thought of as age-related that drives up health insurance premiums for the company, not just your C, but C for Cardiac and C for Chronic anything.

plushcreep October 29, 2022

Exactly this. I can't say I'm surprised. It's wrong AF, but it's also the reality of corporate America.

You could always make a separate IG account for the cancer-related stuff and button it down. Not even use your real name.

ninakir88 October 29, 2022

thats really sad but you're most likely right

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.