Surprise guest in Stuff

  • Oct. 13, 2022, 7:04 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Peter (not Peeta) came over last night. I thought we were going OUT to watch a movie at the cinema, but turns out he wanted to bring his laptop and cast a movie to my TV. Not sure why he didn’t just ask me what streaming services I have and whatnot, because I probably can get whatever movie it is etc, but anyway, he didn’t, and brought his laptop/charger etc.
He tried to buzz up, but of course this stupid building is down to one working lift again, so it was easier to down to the lobby to get him.

I get to the lobby and there’s both him and another guy who I know of, but don’t see very often, sitting on the couch in the lobby. I was confused, like, “What are you doing here?” to the other guy, and he immediately got offended at Peter - “Omg, you didn’t tell him??”
“No, he did not.”
Peter had to apologize and looked sheepish.
Why would you not tell me? You don’t do that to introvert-friends!

It wasn’t that big a deal, as I knew who the guy was, although when I was offering drinks I was pretending to make a big fuss about it, “Oh sorry, I only have TWO of these, or TWO of these to offer you guys, as I wasn’t expecting EXTRA company.”

The worst thing is, the last time I saw this guy was at Peter’s last birthday event. He lives in Sydney, but often organises a birthday dinner at a nearby restaurant for all of his Brisbane friends. Anyway, because I barely ever see this guy and have him on zero social media, even though we’d hung out back in the day (I’m talking well over 10-15 years ago), I’d completely had a mind-blank on what his name was! I remember at the dinner that I’d forgotten it then also. But it never came to me, so it’s not like I remembered and forgot it again.
So that’s always awkward - when a guest is in my home and I don’t know their name lol.

Anyway, Peter ordered Domino’s (easy meal) for us to be delivered and he wanted to put “Encanto” on, but I was like, “I’ve seen it and it only has like one half-decent song” so we ended up just watching my TV anyway and “My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2” was playing, and they were both keen to watch that, and I’d only vaguely remember seeing the first one, so that worked out well. The other guy knew a lot about Greek culture and informed me of such. The pizza arrived in no time, we paused the movie, went to grab the pizza and came back into the apartment, where we realized my housemate had arrived home in that short time between and was half-naked in the kitchen, so whoops haha - it was only his shirt, and he played along with meeting the boys so it was all good.

We chatted and laughed throughout the film and the food was yummy enough for fast-food pizza. I was racking my brain trying to think of what this guy’s name was haha, and it finally clicked about three-quarters of the way through the film. The word ‘Eli’ kept coming to mind, and when I thought that, I thought, “It’s Elijah!” Of course!
See this is what happens when you don’t talk to someone in over a decade and you only see them through your mutual friend.

They actually left right after the movie and Eli helped clean up the pizza boxes, around 9:30pm, and I thought to myself, “Omg, how good is it having friends in their 30’s who LEAVE by 9:30pm?” HA! I’m definitely hitting middle age when I am thinking like this. I said goodbye to Eli by NAME as I was confident that was it (too bad if it wasn’t!) and he said I should come around sometime and meet his dog. Awwww.
If he lives in the same building as I think he does, then it’s also where Nick and Josh live. There’s like five of them so it’s probably not the same one.

In other news, work has started doing a ‘crazy shirt day’ on Thursdays (for some reason) so I took it as a chance not to wear my work-shirt. It worked out well too as most customers left me alone as they figured I didn’t work there. Wish every day was free clothes. I also asked Kylie if she wanted to go on my city’s bridge climb while she’s here next month, since I’ve never done it before either and it’ll give us something fun to do, and thankfully she was keen on it, so that’s all booked in.
I also two two tickets to a movie at our queer film festival here in a few weeks time. There was only really one movie that seemed to appeal to me, and I asked Andrew if he was interested and he said that same movie too, so looks like just the one movie for me this year. Past years I’ve seen like four or five, but the last few years have just been slim pickings and I guess not much was being filmed during the pandemic.

I think that’s all I wanted to say.


Fawkes Gal October 13, 2022

Oh I hate not remembering people's names. Everyone should wear name tags all the time. X-D

kmh. October 19, 2022

Lol omg imagine rocking up to hang out with a friend and bringing someone along with no prior mention of it! Duuuuude what the hell Peter lol

KissOfLife! kmh. ⋅ October 20, 2022

Yup! Apparently he "forgot".

~Octopussy~ November 22, 2022

I would be livid if someone showed up with a guest and didn't tell me.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.