Having a sister in POV

  • Oct. 5, 2022, 10:11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I didn’t find out until I was five that I had a sister seven years older than me. I still remember when we moved to our home state (Navy baby) and my dad told me that I had an older sister. I laughed like my dad was telling me the silliest of jokes until my giggles subsided after taking in my dad’s serious face. I went and spent the night with her shortly thereafter. Growing up I would my sister every once in a while. I would become an Aunt. Graduate high school and become an adult. Throughout the years I sent her pictures of my babies when they were born plus random pictures so she’d know what they look like as they’ve grown over the years.

My sister and I never had a sisterly bond. It was something I always craved. My friends had sisters who they were super close with and could call for anything. I wanted that. I never understood why I didn’t have that with my own sister.

As a kid, I knew that we didn’t have anything in common. As an adult, I don’t have any excuses.

Fast forward to a few months ago. I was dealing with drama with Mister and wanted to talk to my sister. (Mind you, outside of randomly seeing one another and catching up for a brief moment or two…we don’t really talk.) I text my sister and asked if she had a moment to talk to me because I wanted her advice. I honestly didn’t expect a response because my sister works a few different jobs. To my surprise she immediately text me back telling me to call her.

For us not having much of a relationship, I realized that her and I have so much in common. Down to our relationships, how we are raising our kids, our career choices… I mean there are so many things. We stayed on the phone for hours. When we finally got off the phone, I felt so relieved and elated.

I called my dad crying happy tears because I couldn’t believe it. My sister and I had a real ass conversation.

Some part of my inner child healed that night. I look forward to strengthening the relationship I have with my sister. Maybe one day we can meet up for drinks or hang out semi regularly.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.