A Little Wan in Everyday Ramblings

  • Oct. 5, 2022, 5:13 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Arbutus on the flower clock, or at least the fruit clock. I think about this song when I see the arbutus fruiting in its cheerful colors. We have a fair amount of it around here,

“…I heard it in the wind last night
It sounded like applause
Chilly now
End of summer
No more shiny hot nights
It was just the arbutus rustling
And the bumping of the logs
And the moon swept down black water
Like an empty spotlight…” Joni Mitchell For the Roses

The painters are still here. I hope they are on the last round. Who knew this was going to take weeks. Certainly not me. So far I have managed to keep my plants alive but the catnip out in the hall is looking a little wan.

With the first two doses of the vaccine on Day 5 is when I started to get hives.

Yesterday was day 5 from this most recent shot and I was zonked. I slept all afternoon, and my brain was foggy. I am taking this to mean that immunity kicked in and I am good to go but it was unexpected, and a couple of small things didn’t get done. Everything appears to be normal now though thank goodness. No hives.

Diego is leaning up against me having a bath. We had a rocky few days as I was waiting for a refill on his anti-nausea medicine. He was fussing a bit yesterday morning and I was so happy when the medicine came, and I gave him some. That was one thing I managed to get done.

Mrs. Sherlock is going to Chautauqua in New York this weekend for a Road Scholar event. First time she has been on a plane in 2 ½ years. We didn’t walk this last weekend because she hadn’t slept well, and the Portland marathon was blocking off a good chunk of the city on our side of the river. She has been meeting with the other folks who signed up for a couple of years online.

I am beginning to settle into the fall schedule of things. Getting more comfortable with the League stuff, although I still have a lot to learn.

We are going to the beach on the Oregon coast for our semi-annual get away in three weeks and I need it. I always need it, but this time I feel some sort of cumulative effect of all the uncertainty of the last six months as I have slowly started to participate more in the outside world.

In my Bone Builder course, we are building up to heavier weights and the only real answer for that for me is to go back to the gym a couple times a week. I have been thinking about this for months and months and now with the latest booster and a mask I think I am ready.

I was down at the garden yesterday. It is looking a little sad. As there are a few more tomatoes ripening I have left the plants in. The rains haven’t started in earnest yet. They are late this year, and it is a mild fall so far. I am thinking about next year already. Who knows what weather adventures are in store for us this winter.

The voice clinic is reviewing my referral for medical necessity, and they said this morning that I should know about an appointment by the end of the week. I am not holding out a lot of hope that I will get approval for an evaluation, but one tries.

In the meantime, Diego is snoring, and Carlo is not far away curled up and sleeping and I have a class to teach in a few hours and then a civic ed presentation on gun safety online to watch.

I hope this finds you well and reasonably content and with something engaging to watch and read and creative projects that bring you distraction and even a little bit of joy.


mcbee October 05, 2022

This last booster really helped me to feel comfortable participating in life kind of like the old way. We will see!

Deleted user October 07, 2022

Those turn RED? I have never seen them that color. At most, I have seen pale yellow-green ones on the ground in a state of decay. Wow. Maybe because they don't thrive where I am?

Sorry the vax has you taxed.

Zipster October 08, 2022

The arbutus are beautiful, leave it to Joni the make poetry/song of them. Glad to hear you survived your vax without too much trauma.

Jinn October 11, 2022

Joni. I love her .
My tomatoes just quit producing . We have had some very cold nights.
I have not had that vac yet. In view of my reactions to the others and since I just had Covid ; I don’t think I am going to get it :-(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.