Crisp Morning! in These Foolish Things

  • Oct. 5, 2022, 8:09 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

We are already well into October. The air is cooler and the days are much, much shorter. I don’t really know where 2022 went, but I do feel like I’m finally getting my strength and mental faculties back, thank goodness. It’s been a year.

Next week I’ll be getting my 1 year post-cancer treatment scan and hopefully the scan will show absolutely nothing remarkable. This will be the time to see if I’ve treated my body well over the last year and if my body has responded well to that treatment. I have a good feeling. I will be shocked if there’s something there.

Though, I will say that I was a little less gentle with my body yesterday as I went to the Giant State Fair for a glorious late morning and afternoon in the sunshine. It was a perfect day to go and gorge on some fair food (I ate a fried corn dog because I always have one and it tasted so decadent - I also had a beer and ice cream and loaded mac and cheese and took home a caramel apple, so…). PLUS I still had coupons from the last time I went to the fair in 2019, and even though the coupon prices have doubled from .50 to $1.00 this year (maybe they changed that last year?), the coupons never expire! I had 55 coupons to use, and use them I did!

I wanted to take myself to the fair on a random Tuesday when I knew there’d be a much, much smaller crowd, and I was glad for that. I’m still not ready for hordes of people.

Speaking of hordes of people, however, I took public transport to the fair because I recently discovered the local train stop close to my neighborhood (it’s right next to the beautiful rose gardens where I sometimes take Martini to walk).

I always sit in the front car as close to the driver as possible because I’ve been harassed on these trains before. More than once. But once I discovered the safety of sitting directly behind the driver (and there’s a sign on the driver’s door that says “safe place”) I always feel much more comfortable.

I was surprised to see full cars later in the morning, and I’m glad I was masked up because, man! People have gone back to being very comfortable being close to each other, haven’t they? This was my first time on any public transportation (planes or trains) since the pandemic started and I felt pretty weirded out.

Once I got to the fairgrounds, though, it was pure joy! I just walked and walked and walked (and ate and ate and ate) and people watched and took photos of all of the colorful sights. I just love the fair! Everyone is happy and friendly and it’s just a magical experience. Plus, a LOT of steps.

Okay, gotta cut this short. The only reason I wrote this quick entry was because (A) I wanted to quickly catch up, but (B) Martini decided she really didn’t want to go on a good long walk this morning so we came back upstairs to wait for the coffee people to set up (sometimes my building has this cute coffee pop-up shop with free coffee/lattes and breakfast snacks - it’s pretty great!).

So I’m going to run to the coffee pop-up and then take Martini to downtown daycare this morning and then drive out to mom and dad’s. They are participating in a community garage sale that starts tomorrow and their place is an absolute DISASTER. I was there on Sunday and even though my bro and SIL are there, their garage is a freaking mess and they desperately need help. They are old and don’t understand how much work it is to set up for something like this and my brother and SIL are absolutely disorganized and I wanted to cry when I saw the space.

So I told them I’d come out today and help set up. I do NOT look forward to this, but it has to be done. Also, my dad is not allowed to lift anything anymore because he keeps falling! It’s a miracle mom and dad are still around!

So off I go to get this done and I’m just praying that the karma gods will return me with the gift of a real, paying JOB soon. I have a lot to write about that as well!

Good luck to us!
GS


Last updated October 05, 2022


sudare October 05, 2022

I hope the scan will give you a good result. I’m not good at organising, so I might be able to be a friend of your brother…

Jinn October 05, 2022

We desperately need to have a garage sale before we move and I am dreading it . I like going to them but not having them :-) It’s kind of you to help.
I hope the universe sends you that job and a clear scan too !

WhatDreamsMayCome October 05, 2022

Garage sales are waaaayyyyyy too much work. Good luck!

Ginger Snap WhatDreamsMayCome ⋅ October 06, 2022

So much freaking work!

Lux Lunae October 05, 2022

Hope it all goes well, it's a lot of work to set up for a garage sale. I've been meaning to have one for years and it hasn't happened due to the huge undertaking it involves. Instead I just give stuff away and sell the odd item that has a higher value.

So nice to go to the fair at the beginning of the week in the morning. Smart planning on your end. I may do that next summer for the girls. It will be their first time going and it would be nice to do it in the morning and afternoon, rather than the late afternoon/evening.

Ginger Snap Lux Lunae ⋅ October 06, 2022

Morning into afternoon is just perfect for the fair. No crowds and nice weather!

bobbi01 October 06, 2022

What a fab day at the fair. I feel for you with the garage sale- good luck!

Ginger Snap bobbi01 ⋅ October 06, 2022

It was rough.

Satine October 06, 2022

Wishing for a clean scan and a well paid and enjoyable role commensurate to your experience soon. xx

Ginger Snap Satine ⋅ October 06, 2022

Thank you, thank you! I definitely can use both of those things ❤️

Complicated Disaster Satine ⋅ October 07, 2022

This is what I was going to write, only I wouldn't have put it so well!! xx

Complicated Disaster October 07, 2022

Those trains don't sound like much fun :-/ xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ October 07, 2022

They're a decent and inexpensive mode of transportation here and I'm glad we have as much of a network as we do, but they are not the most pleasant experiences.

plushcreep October 07, 2022

I haven't been to a state fair in many years and really miss the experience. We just missed Wisconsin's by a few weeks this year, so it's on our calendar for 2023!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.