September Sorties in Scottish Meanderings

Revised: 09/30/2022 8:57 p.m.

  • Sept. 29, 2022, 7 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It's wild weather outside today - 'dreich' as my Dad would have said - a good Scottish word for dreary, bleak, dull or gloomy - it's pouring, the wind's howling, my ancient fence is hanging on like grim death making me check it's still there every hour or so (not sure what I'm going to do about it if it isn't) so it's perfect for staying in and writing this.

No car disasters last month I'm glad to report - just an apparent inherent inability to decide on a new one. You'd think that would be a nice problem to have but it's become a total stressfest and keeps growing arms and legs! I had a list of ones I'd seen in car parks/supermarkets/drives which I liked the look of and the one which was coming up trumps was the Toyota Aygo Cross in chilli red.


However I discovered that there was no Toyota dealer in Aberdeen any more and I'd have to travel 60 odd miles north to Elgin or the same distance south to Dundee if I wanted to look at one. Then I hit on the idea of posting a message to the neighbourhood app I use to see if anyone had by chance bought one and someone a couple of streets away had and kindly let me see it. Obviously I wasn't insured to drive it so couldn't do a test drive but the owner took me out for a spin in it which helped a bit but didn't let me get the feel of actually driving it. It was also a manual and I had set my heart on an automatic to save a bit of wear and tear on joints but was picking up from reviews that the automatic on that car is pretty crappy - noisy and whiny.

So I was checking out other automatics and in that process started looking at electric vehicles again and now the whole thing's just getting out of control! There's a new EV just come on the market - Chinese - the Good Cat (honestly!) made by Ora, part of Great Wall Motors - which I really like the look of - but the only dealer to have it in Scotland at the moment is one in Glasgow (about 4 hours' drive away). What's massively frustrating about that though is the fact I'm going to be in Glasgow next Friday to see James Taylor in concert but my friend, Janice, is taking us down in her car and will need to get back home on Saturday afternoon.

And then on Tuesday I realised my sister, Lorna, is getting a hip replacement done in Glasgow next Friday as well so I feel I should go and see her while I'm there. The frustrating bit is that if I was in half decent health I would just go down myself on Thursday night, go to the concert with Janice on the Friday night then see the car and hopefully Lorna as well on the Saturday and drive back home. Janice would be quite happy getting the Megabus both ways.

But I've never driven that far like this and Glasgow's a horrible city to drive in - plus there's no guarantee I'll be well enough to make the journey in the first place - or do those two things on the Saturday and get back home. If I had been going down yesterday for instance I would never have made it as I was unwell the whole day. I can't take the train/bus as that would be even more stressful - I feel more in control with the car.

So the whole dilemma swims round and round in my brain and goes nowhere🙄.


I turned 64 at the beginning of the month - least said about that the better - sounds so old! We went out for tea the night before as that was more practical and had a nice meal in a restaurant just outside Aberdeen.


Ruari got all dressed up - he looked so cute!


After they went off home I went for a drive along the coast because it was still light and quite warm and stopped off at a couple of the coastal villages for a walk along the beaches. Cruden Bay first (home of Slains Castle where Dracula was apparently set) -


then Collieston - a very pretty village with a lovely little bay around which the houses have been built.


It was dark by then but the bay was all lit up and it was so picturesque - I felt quite safe walking there at 9 p.m. at night. Unfortunately I couldn't get a decent photo for some reason even with the flash.



And then of course there was the sad news about the Queen on the 8th - I was driving when I heard it on the news and had to pull in and stop as I started to cry - it just seemed such a shock when she was working 2 days previously although she did look frail in the photos that were taken that day.

Nikki and I had decided to try and see the cortège seeing it was passing through Aberdeen but she had to drop Lily off at a party in Pitmedden at 11 a.m. (the girls were actually at Joel's that weekend but he was doing the pick up at the other end and Lily's outfit and present was at home) and the cortège was supposed to be arriving in Aberdeen at 11.20 so she was never going to make it in time. I almost didn't go as a result but I really wanted to be part of the historic moment so decided to try and although I had to stand for an hour and a half and it passed in about 3 seconds, I was glad I made the effort. It was around 45 minutes late in arriving so Nikki could have made it after all but I don't think Ruari would have coped with all the standing about and waiting.

I was at a barrier at the side of the road like this one (don't click on the arrow - it's just a screenshot of a video!)


and the crowd was very patient and good-humoured so that all helped. Technology was also a boon in that respect because we were able to follow the Sky News live coverage on our phones which showed exactly where she was at any given time so could work out how long she would take to get there. It's nice when technology actually improves your life like that.

Then on the 19th I watched the funeral for most of the day - Nikki & the kids were coming in at 4 o'clock to do stuff so I stopped then but we had Queen bramble crumble as a celebration - Nikki, Ruari & I had picked brambles the day before on the Sunday -


- luckily we weren't relying on Ruari's haul because, as you can see from his mouth, he was eating as many as he was picking😁! Anyway Nikki made bramble crumble with them so took it in with her on the Monday and I realised the only ice cream I had in the freezer were Strawberry Soft Cornettos but the top of each one looks like a crown (sort of)


so I just lobbed off the tops and plonked a couple in each dish and they were perfect!


I found the funeral very moving and on the morning after I woke up very sad. I thought it might just be because the day before had been the final day but when I tried to unpack that, it seemed to be something about someone very significant leaving the world and having to navigate life without them. That didn't really make sense though - I very much admired the Queen and she certainly was very significant but I don't think Charles is going to make too much of a balls up for the time he'll have left and I certainly don't have any qualms about William taking up the reins.

So I wondered if maybe it was feelings relating to Dad's death - they say every loss you experience keenly can be compounded by previous losses - and feeling those feelings I may have had at that time but been too young (17) to process or know what to do with? His birthday was the same date of the funeral too. Maybe that's what was going on - who knows.

Nikki sent me this poem on the evening of the funeral and it made me cry - sorry if it's been all over Facebook already. So poignant.


On a cheerier note, I treated myself to a new iMac for my birthday - I quite like it - thought I would hate the keyboard and mouse but I must admit I've quickly got used to them.


I need to find a comfier chair for my desk though - I’m still using the one I took home from work in 2013 when we had to close the office up and I got to take home what I wanted. It's a bit past its sell by date now.


If anyone's got any recommendations please let me know - my back would very much appreciate it😊.



Last updated September 30, 2022


Jinn September 30, 2022

My Father has a Yaris Cross hybrid Automatic also and swears by it . I am still driving my little old VW bug 🐞. I intend to keep it forever ! :-)
I was sad about The Queen too . I have always been kind of fascinated by that family . I guess it’s all that history.
So good to read an entry from you !

Marg Jinn ⋅ October 11, 2022

The VW bugs are very cute and, more importantly, reliable!

Jinn Marg ⋅ October 11, 2022

I love mine. Frank just had the exhaust completely rebuilt / replaced. Now there is some issue with the visor that covers the sunroof but it’s not urgent . :-) . The bug runs like a charm. It could use to be detailed . Maybe after Christmas.

JustSurviveSomehow September 30, 2022

Happy Belated Birthday! Car shopping is the worst. Beautiful pictures as always! :)

Marg JustSurviveSomehow ⋅ October 11, 2022

Thank you!

thesunnyabyss September 30, 2022

You have such a beautiful family and country.

What a smile on Rauri!

That poem, oh that poem had me sniffling away, it's the end of an era.

Take care, have fun!!!

Marg thesunnyabyss ⋅ October 11, 2022

I was near to tears for a lot of the funeral but that poem definitely made them finally spill over!

kmh. October 01, 2022

What a stressful situation with the car! I hope it all works out for you, and that you are able to see and purchase a lovely new car.
Lovely photos, and how cute is Ruari all dressed up! x

Marg kmh. ⋅ October 11, 2022

He looks so chuffed with himself!😊

blackpropaganda October 01, 2022

It is great that you were able to get around and getting some enjoyment with the family and technology. We spent quite a lot of time watching royal stuff - Liz had a,good send off but this was more about appreciation of her long life and rule than support for monarchy. Long live Chas 3 - although he might not have that long at 73 - and 64 is the new 45 - I am 79 on Tuesday!

Marg blackpropaganda ⋅ October 11, 2022

So going by that you’re just in your fifties!😁 Can you imagine taking on that job in your seventies??

Just Annie October 01, 2022

Happy Belated Birthday!

I look forward to your monthly entries. hugs

Marg Just Annie ⋅ October 11, 2022

Thank you!

NorthernSeeker October 01, 2022

Vehicle shopping...can be endless. What you wind up with in the end is a compromise because to get all the different features you want you would have to have a stable of different types of vehicles. I hate that whole process and I usually give myself a budget and look at the options within that. Mr. NS would happily spend the rest of his life shopping for vehicles. Your iMac looks great! When you feel old go to a place where old people like to retire (like Victoria BC) and you will feel like a babe again.

Marg NorthernSeeker ⋅ October 11, 2022

Haha good strategy!
And tell Mr NS he can come and do my car shopping for me then ‘cause I’m sick of it!😁

noko October 02, 2022

Happy birthday. You look good in that picture with the kids. The car shopping sounds stressful. Hope the weather has cleared by now. It really does seem like a strange world with the Queen gone. She was amazing. Glad the wait to see her pass was manageable.

Cats Rule from OD October 04, 2022

I have a hybrid and I have to say, if you get an electric car, get used to people NOT hearing you. In parking lots, people stand in the middle of the road and talk, not moving and I'm waiting to get by. They don't hear me because the speed is so slow and the car switches to electric. Otherwise I recommend them, as long as you don't plan on long trips. :)

history of love Cats Rule from OD ⋅ October 14, 2022

One of my bosses accidently run over her dog's leg when it was in hybrid mode...luckily the dog was fine!

Marg history of love ⋅ January 25, 2023

So glad to hear that - think I'm definitely going for a hybrid so will need to remember this!

Marg Cats Rule from OD ⋅ January 25, 2023

That's a very good point - duly noted!

Serin October 11, 2022

Happy Birthday, regardless of numbers.

Marg Serin ⋅ November 20, 2022

Thank you!

history of love October 14, 2022

Very belated happy birthday from me! Good bit of inspo on the ice cream crowns. Happy to hear all is reasonably well with everyone, may it continue.
x

Marg history of love ⋅ November 20, 2022

Thank you! x

JustSurviveSomehow November 19, 2022

Hey Marg, just realized you missed your October monthly review. Thinking about you and hope you are doing ok. 💜

Marg JustSurviveSomehow ⋅ November 20, 2022

Thank you😊 Just done it now - a tad late - will hopefully do better this month!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.