They drop on a dime in TIME Flies and other Thoughts

  • Oct. 5, 2022, 6:17 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

In hindsight I missed clues that something was off. I tend to do that. Like I am in denial or something.

One of the two cats were missing the cat box. It was a few more weeks when I caught the culprit. But why? In fact, they weren’t just missing the box, they were purposely peeing next to it. Not always though. Just periodically.

As we thought about why, we realized it had been a number of weeks that we had seen the Cat upstairs. And we knew because there was no Cat Hair on the Carpet. There was ALWAYS cat hair on the carpet and my husband Vacuumed often because it bugged him.
… Then we noticed that it seemed the cat hurt one of it’s back legs. A few times she was unable to jump on to something… But then it seemed to get better.
.... We also noticed that she hadn’t licked the Clay Pots of late. She was OBCESSED!!!!!! with licking Clay Pots many times a day. (every vet (3) all said it was just her thing).
.... We also noticed that she hadn’t been domineering over the cat dish. (We have two in different places but they both flavored the same dish).
.... We also noticed she hadn’t been joining us for devotions.... She only ever jumped on the table when we do Zoom Devotions with Family.
.... We also noticed she was sitting long hours in one place.
.... And in August, I noticed it seemed she was losing weight.
THERE WERE signs but it took it a bit to put two and two together to cause me to make an appointment.

The 1st of September I made an appointment for her. I felt lucky to get the appointment 2 weeks away.. as appointments for pets since Covid has been crazy. I read about these crazy stories in Facebook in our area.
They said she had a bad UTI.. well stink.. she has probably had it for a few months then.
She was put on an Antibiotic and after two weeks she was doing well… in that regards. And was more perky. We placed her in the Bathroom because of her wetting sometimes not even near the box. It had been a week since she missed the box. I was feeling confident to let her out. She wanted out more than just the times we hung in the backyard.

However, that weakness in her back leg was now both legs. On Tuesday 27th, when I had her in the backyard, I noticed her really swaying and not able to stand to clean herself. So, Wednesday morning I called for a Quality of Life evaluation. We KNEW.
Would have putting 2 and 2 together a month sooner made a difference? (I know I can’t think about that). We don’t know 100% what did her in. The Doc said we could spend 100’s or 1000’s of dollars trying to figure it. (Of which we don’t have). He said the fact that she had lost 12 more ounces since he saw her 2 weeks prior didn’t look good. She got skinny so fast! He didn’t hold out hope for any improvement.

Like my daughter’s vet told her when her cats got sick, “They are good until they are not”
The vet said that cats tend to hide how they really feel until they no longer can.

I posted on Facebook a tribute to my Cat.
I said- “I obtained her when she about a year old. A little feisty but she mellowed over time.
She was attentive to me. She ran up the stairs in the morning when she heard stirring to greet me. She greeted me at the front door when I came home from being out and about. Each time sweetly talking to me when I responded to her greeting. She came when I called her. And often wanted to be in the same room I was. She loved to sit on my lap, which became more trickier when I went from a Desktop to a Laptop. She loved food….. Came running when she heard the Chip Bag or the opening of any Can or the Lunch Meat container or Bag. She’d swipe your food off your plate it you weren’t looking. When you shook the Cat Treat Bag she’d come running. We’d toss them and she would run after them as they slid across the floor.
I will never forget her quirky habit of licking Clay Pots. Her love for fitting in small boxes. And hanging over a chair when she sat.
She was the Sweetest Cat I have ever owned!
Callie
2009-2022


FitLadyDi October 05, 2022

So very sorry for your loss!

Hotaru October 06, 2022

I’m sorry for your loss. It was the same way with my kitty. She was fine until she wasn’t. And her obsession was licking plastic. Mostly plastic bags.

Bird of Paradise Hotaru ⋅ October 07, 2022 (edited October 07, 2022)

Edited

Our other cat loves Plastic anything or Leather. We can't have a bag of something or a belt within her reach. Within the first few years we had her she bit through the tubing to the water cooler of one of the computers. The computer overheated and in looking into it, we found bite marks throughout the tubing and the carpet soaked. And cords to the outlets we had to protect. She put bite marks all over a recliner we had. She bit all the plastic covers over the Wii hand things. She has improved over the years, but plastic things are still something she will always destroy. She also really likes biting the toilet roll to smithereens, so we have to keep the bathroom door closed. Well and she also bites at blankets and towels and carpet and pulls the strands out. I just thought she is a CAT but obvious she has some Dog genes LOL because that is totally what a dog would do.
Cats are so unique!

ConnieK October 07, 2022

Oh, the loss of a pet is hard, especially when you start to do something routine for the pet and suddenly realize you don't need to. My heart and prayers go out to you. Know that you gave her a good life, better than many cats, and she did not know hunger or danger because of you. {{HUGS}}

crystal butterfly October 10, 2022

I am sorry for the loss of you cat. Mine went downhill just that fast but they were 15 and 18 I think.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.