Moderna Covid Bivalent Booster in These Foolish Things

  • Sept. 23, 2022, 4:45 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Crawling out of my skin a bit.

On Wednesday I got the new bivalent Covid vaccine. All of my previous vaccines had been Pfizer and had zero side effects, but this one was Moderna and I wondered if I was going to have a reaction.

I’d scheduled the vaccine at 5pm at a nearby pharmacy (CVS inside Target…my favorite place!), and then I was going to go directly from there to a cute coffee shop to meet up with my friend C. and some of her friends for just a little girls night kind of thing.

Shot was easy. No wait. The pharmacist did a quick jab and then asked me to wait for a bit in case I had an immediate reaction. I asked her if I could walk through the store for 15 minutes and if I fell over or whatnot, someone in the store would find me. She said OK!

Walked around the store, no biggie and then left for the coffee shop.

Had a nice time with my friend C. and met a couple of her friends. They want to start a little group of women who want to meet for positivity and to meet new people once a month - kind of like my brunch club with [Athena], only in the evenings. I love the idea and I had a really good time. Very mellow, and we even did a breathing exercise to kind of breathe in good vibes and breathe out negativity.

I know it sounds a little woo woo, but I like that kind of thing, and it was also the first evening before Fall, so it was easy to breathe in the smell of cooler fresh air and pumpkin spice and allllll of that basic stuff that makes people roll their eyes, but I don’t CARE! I love that shit!

Drove home with the top down and a slightly cooler breeze in my hair.

Went to bed and woke up feeling fine…ish. Maybe just the slightest headache and the tiniest twinge of wooziness.

By the time Martini and I started our morning walk, I could tell that my body was having some reaction to the booster.

Martini must be so in tune with my physical (and even mental) feelings that she kept getting in front of me with those pleading eyes and pulling for me to turn around. I was a little annoyed because I love our morning walks, but I thought about it a bit and she was right - I was feeling worse by the minute!

By the time we got back inside, I was full blown not feeling great and decided to lie on the couch for a bit and just see if the wooziness would go away.

It did not.

I stayed on the sofa until it was time for our evening walk! I literally could NOT get my body up and moving! I couldn’t even check my email. It was a good old fashioned shut down by my body - the closest thing I could come up with to describe it was like a pretty hard-core chemo day. And for those who are not familiar with how chemo feels, think of the worst hangover you’ve ever had.

Yeah, kinda like that.

Anyway.

Evening walk was short and dinner consisted of an English muffin with butter.

And then I went to bed.

Woke up this morning feeling well rested and much, much, muuuuuch better. I did a good, long walk with Martini this morning and have been catching up on things. I don’t yet feel 100%, but I’d say I feel a good 90% better than yesterday. I mean, a HUGE improvement.

So I guess all of that to say, I know that bivalent booster is in there doing its job because my immune system was ANGRY yesterday and now building itself back up.

I think it’s going to be worth it, though. I’d rather have one day of that nonsense than Covid.

I hope to be a Covid holdout for the rest of my life!

Okay, on with things - bigger and better things.
GS


Complicated Disaster September 23, 2022

Yikes! But like you say, it's probably the vaccine doing a good strong job! xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ September 23, 2022

Exactly! I feel good about it today. If one day of crap keeps me from getting Covid, I'm happy.

CharminglyNeurotic September 23, 2022

I am going for the award for never having Covid ever. So far I've been able to avoid it and plan on doing so foreverrrr. I am excited to get the bivalent shot next week, but also still wear masks indoors or around crowds of people, still wash my hands before and after leaving the house, etc. My biggest fear is getting Long Covid, bc having chronic Lyme is similar and not something I'd ever wish on anyone.

Ginger Snap CharminglyNeurotic ⋅ September 23, 2022

Exactly! I'm trying so hard not to get Covid ever too! I'm def still masking up in crowded places (which I avoid as much as possible!) and washing hands all the time.

colder September 23, 2022

I had a headache for maybe 24 hrs, but nothing else. I had zero reaction to the previous ones though.

Ginger Snap colder ⋅ September 23, 2022

Ah, did you get Moderna for all of them?

colder Ginger Snap ⋅ September 23, 2022

No, I got the new Pfizer one. All mine have been Pfizer actually, and this is the first one where I've had any sides at all.

Ginger Snap colder ⋅ September 23, 2022

Got it. Interesting! I'm sure that the reactions are all good signs!

Athena September 23, 2022

so glad you were able to get the new vaccine before this bugger got to you!

Ginger Snap Athena ⋅ September 24, 2022

Me too. I do not envy you at all. Hope today is better!

bobbi01 September 23, 2022

Go Martini!. I like the idea of the monthly get togethers.

Ginger Snap bobbi01 ⋅ September 24, 2022

It's good stuff - very good for my soul.

Deleted user September 23, 2022

Your post gave me a mental image of T-cells glaring with resentment over being asked to wrap up their coffee break and get back to work.

Ginger Snap Deleted user ⋅ September 24, 2022

Hahah! I love that visual!

Phade September 23, 2022

sounds a little woo woo

I always felt like everyone could use a little woo woo in their life. Just a little. Just enough to farm the positivity but not to rule our lives.

Ginger Snap Phade ⋅ September 24, 2022

Right! Just enough...but not too much!

The Dress Collector September 24, 2022

Thanks for the reminder--I was able to schedule an appointment for the flu and booster vaccines today. Glad to hear you're feeling better!

Ginger Snap The Dress Collector ⋅ September 24, 2022

Oh wow - how are you doing with both of those vaccines at the same time??

The Dress Collector Ginger Snap ⋅ September 26, 2022

Felt tired, had tingly skin and joint soreness the day after. But that was it!

ninakir88 September 24, 2022

the moderna booster messed me up, i was sick for so long! wonder if its just that particular booster.. but who knows. scott got pfizer and he was ok.

Ginger Snap ninakir88 ⋅ September 24, 2022

Interesting! I'm hearing the same of Pfizer vs. Moderna from a lot of people.

Jinn September 24, 2022

I think I have had it or some really bad bug the last six days and counting. It has been awful.

Ginger Snap Jinn ⋅ September 24, 2022

Oh no! I hope you get better soon!

Jinn Ginger Snap ⋅ September 24, 2022

Thanks! I think I am . Some of the time I still feel bad but it’s definitely better .

sudare September 24, 2022

I’m glad you felt much better. I really hate Moderna shots.

Ginger Snap sudare ⋅ September 24, 2022

And today (Saturday), I finally feel 100%! Man, those Moderna shots are tough on the old body - hopefully worth it!

pandora September 29, 2022

I have had that sort of reaction to all three of my shots so far (and I've had Moderna, Pfizer, and Astrazeneca...). I'm not looking forward to the fourth!

Ginger Snap pandora ⋅ September 29, 2022

Ugh. It's not fun, but it's worth it. .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.