Have a cow... and her friends in These titles mean nothing.

  • Sept. 16, 2022, 9:51 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

These are at away pasture. Jim says they come home Monday. I will have to help. Wish me luck. Wish Jim luck. Wish the cows luck.

Thanks for all that luck wishing.

ps I like cows when they have sky under their bellies. These do I guess but they look kind of far away.

pps The cow in front is displaying the classic skeptical ear back expression. (her right ear)


Last updated September 16, 2022


gattaca September 16, 2022

Cows, like so many of God’s creatures, are smarter than we give them credit for.

That photo reminds me very strongly of an old Pink Floyd album cover. It was called Atom Heart Mother.

woman in the moon gattaca ⋅ September 17, 2022

Jim is good with his cattle. They sorta have relationships. But he still gets mad sometimes.

ConnieK September 16, 2022

I watched a video of a woman in rural England who threw an oversize ball and the cow chased it down the hill, then use her nose to push it back up so she could chase it down the hill again. I laughed so hard, tears came to my eyes. I did not know that cows play.

My cousin owns a dairy farm out east. They let the cows come in to be milked when they are ready, rather than a set schedule. The milk is in the local stores but cost a dollar more. It still sells well. It DOES taste better to me but that could be all in my head out of family loyalty or thinking stress-free milk is good or a bit of both.

IpsoFacto September 17, 2022 (edited September 17, 2022)

Edited

I love cows except for when they lick me. When I was a little girl they would sometimes lick me in the hair and get it all slimy with their big tongues. And then to add insult to injury my grandmother would reprimand me as if it was my fault.

woman in the moon IpsoFacto ⋅ September 17, 2022

they have very rough surfaces on their tongues. Sandpapery. And they reach up into their nostrils, which is kinda creepy to a little kid.

Sleepy-Eyed John September 17, 2022

:)

Just Annie September 17, 2022

Ella has decided to raise a calf as her 4-H animal project. Her dad's sister and husband have cows and they offered to help her.

WhatDreamsMayCome September 17, 2022

I grew up around sights like this. Your photo makes me miss it.

woman in the moon WhatDreamsMayCome ⋅ September 17, 2022

I know. We are still here. I'm not sure why or how, but we are.

woman in the moon WhatDreamsMayCome ⋅ September 17, 2022

I know. We are still here. I'm not sure why or how, but we are.

noko September 18, 2022

Love this disquisition on cows...

woman in the moon noko ⋅ September 18, 2022

Cows are these great animals. They have these LIVES. And then we get to eat them.
If I lived alone I would probably be a vegetarian. I don't eat or buy or cook a LOT of meat. I use it kind of as a foundation for a dish or for meal. I don't think it's morally wrong. And if it is, then well - lots of other things are wrong too.
Life is complicated.

Purple Dawn September 19, 2022

Cows are mostly home here. Technically they have until Oct 1st, they don't like calendars much though 😉

Jinn September 20, 2022

I love cows . But I learned not to get attached to the beef cows . :-( The dairy cows were not slaughtered.

woman in the moon Jinn ⋅ September 20, 2022

What happened to the dairy cows?

Jinn woman in the moon ⋅ September 21, 2022

Most stayed on the farm until they got too old to milk or breed . Then they retired :-) and became pasture dogs. Lol.

NorthernSeeker September 21, 2022

What a lovely peaceful setting. Skeptical is a smart way to be.

Serin October 08, 2022

I like cows when I have somewhere to retreat when they are too pushy about being licky.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.