Noodles with Strangers in These Foolish Things

  • Sept. 9, 2022, 3:42 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I last left off talking about how I was heading to a meetup.com event at one of my favorite noodle houses. This was going to be a first for me with the meetup group and I knew exactly ZERO people going to this event.

The RSVP list said there were going to be 15 people there, so this was going to be interesting.

I should also say that this particular noodle establishment was actually a branch of my favorite noodle house. The original started out as a super cute little stand in the hip section of downtown, a few blocks from where I used to live.

Because of the authenticity and the awesomeness of this fantastic little noodle shop, the business has since grown tremendously and now has several locations, including this location closer to The Treehouse. I’d actually never been to this one before.

I drove over and got there maybe 5 minutes early. Checked my nearly non-existent lipstick (did very minimal makeup as I’m just not used to wearing any lately), smoothed my hair and took a deep breath…

When I walked inside, there were already about 12 or 13 people with the group and they nearly attacked me when I walked in the door!

A gorgeous, tall woman with super shiny, long black hair, bright red lips and a super cute outfit (I was jealous of her mules) immediately introduced herself to me, aggressively holding her hand out to shake mine and bellowing a hearty welcome.

The place was empty except for our large group and a few people sitting at the bar, which was fine, but the venue was loft-like: a giant space with exposed pipes and some kind of metal walls, which made the acoustics extremely LOUD. Everyone was YELLING their hellos and it was a bit overwhelming.

People were moving in CLOSE so they could introduce themselves to me, and one guy even gave me a great BIG BEAR HUG as a greeting and yelled, “NOW WE KNOW EACH OTHER!”

UGH.

Clearly this group is finished with Covid.

I told the welcoming committee that I was going to run to the restroom and I practically ran so I could wash my freaking hands and then gather my wits.

When I came out of the bathroom, people were beginning to order food and sit down. This is one of those places where you order at the counter and they bring out your food when it’s ready.

I was able to steer clear of The Hugger, ordered edamame and tofu dumplings and a salad and then walked over to find a spot that seemed a little quieter at a table next to a couple of women who were already sitting.

I ended up at the very end of a table, thankfully. There was no one on my right and I engaged with three (almost four) people to my left. There were three super cool women and one super LOUD dude. I get it - you had to be loud in order to be heard, but it just seemed like the men in this group were beyond outgoing!

I really enjoyed the women.

I found out that the one sitting directly to my left was a walker (just like me - walking is one of my favorite things!) and she was actually training to WALK the Chicago Marathon next month! How cool is that? I have never really thought about walking a marathon, but why not? I mean, you can get just about as much exercise by brisk walking as you can running and it’s easier on your joints. She was full of fascinating information and I was inspired talking with her.

The other woman across from me was super cool and told me about being in product management for Microsoft and told me that even though I’m not a technical product person that I should look into it. Many of the skills are the same and their benefits package is excellent.

Anyway. We had some great chats and when we finished eating, it seemed like a big part of the group was starting to mingle around to talk with other people, but the two women I was talking with said that they were ready to leave, so I took that as a cue and decided to leave at the same time they did.

I could tell that the loudmouth guys wanted to talk more, and even the beautiful hand-shaking woman ran over to shake my hand AGAIN and thank me for coming.

I drove home with my top down (it was a beautiful evening) and a doggy bag full of dumplings.

Honestly, I’d call Noodles with Strangers a success. I went. I talked with a few people and I escaped uncomfortableness easily.

I’ll definitely do another meetup. And I’m going to look into marathon walking too!

Not bad,
GS


IpsoFacto September 09, 2022

I am glad that you had a good experience with this meet up. When I was single, before I met John in Palm Beach I went to several meet and mingle things. I could write something really funny about them and maybe I will. The women are almost all Beautiful and looking to become some rich guys trophy wife. It was very interesting. I met a really interesting guy who was good looking and he was some kind of I don’t know securities or something guy. He asked me what I was looking for in a man and when I got through telling him, he said, “ I feel like I’ve just taken a crash course in mergers and acquisitions.“

bobbi01 September 09, 2022

Good on you! Glad you found a couple of gentle souls. That hugger needs to check himself though.

Bre M September 09, 2022

I have run the Chicago Marathon with my dad and then bf but now husband Steve. It's a beautiful city to run in and they have bands and lots of spectators along the route. Its usually on the Sunday before Columbus Day so it's cool and clear weather. Not sure how long it would take to walk a marathon but it sounds interesting. I ran it in 3 hours 45 minutes so I am guessing of you walked it you would be looking at 7 hours or so. Only thing I will say is that a very long time on you feet. And you have to walk to Grant Park and probably wait in your corral for another 2 hours. So it's just a very long day. But when you finish you get a can of Goose Island Marathon Beer. But go for it. Sounds challenging and fun

Ginger Snap Bre M ⋅ September 09, 2022

Yeah. I'm not saying that I'm going to walk the Chicago Marathon - the woman I was talking with is going to. She is planning on 6 hours and is training that way. I'd likely do a different marathon than Chicago, and yes, you train in a similar fashion to how you train if you were running a marathon. And WOW!! 3 hours 45 mins is AWESOME! Congratulations!

Complicated Disaster Ginger Snap ⋅ September 10, 2022

Yeah 6 hours weeks be a very fast walk! Xx

sudare September 09, 2022

Walking a marathon! I haven't come up with that sort of idea. She is cool!

Complicated Disaster September 10, 2022

Well done getting out there! Xx

ninakir88 September 10, 2022

glad you had a good experience!
those meetups are so nerve wrecking when it's your first time.. def outside of the comfort zone. when i did the hiking groups, ive always brought a friend. you were brave!

Parliament September 10, 2022

Honey, you need to be looking at my employer for positions too! I'm not a technical guy myself, and honestly I think it helps the company to have some outside-the-box thinkers. If you need a link, I can text you one.

Ginger Snap Parliament ⋅ September 10, 2022

Can you imagine us working together???! Yes, link please!

Satine September 10, 2022

ahh stressful but good for you for getting out there. If you want to walk a marathon, NYC is the one, it is like a party on foot, so much to see and it's so big that you will always have people around you even walking.

Deleted user September 11, 2022

Ah, a small intimate gathering. 😁 Seriously, though, the evening walks in Big Bird's group are capped at 30, whereas other groups don't cap theirs and I've seen as many as 100 sign up. D.C. is definitely done with covid, but this area has a good vax rate.

plushcreep September 12, 2022

I never thought about walking a marathon either. Doing the math though, at my pace it would take me at least 6.5 hours to finish. Not sure I want to subject myself to that kind of madness, ha.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.