Some Updates in These Foolish Things

  • Sept. 8, 2022, 5:25 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

  • Regarding Tuesday’s entry, Mom got worse and went to her doctor today. She has been diagnosed with bronchitis and NOT Covid, so I’m feeling better, though she has COPD, so any kind of situation like this is dangerous for her. I’m a little surprised I haven’t gotten it yet, though she told me that it’s not contagious (I googled and it actually IS contagious, at least for a few days) - I’m just glad I’m not feeling sick at all after being there for a while. The house is an absolute disaster with my bro’s family moving in and mom and dad moving to another part. It’s too stressful to be there and my heart kinda breaks for poor mom and dad. Still, I think they’re going to eventually settle and be ok for a while. It’s going to work out.

  • Not much to report on the Funemployment front since it’s not fun anymore and I told you that I wasn’t going to report any bad news. There is a little movement, but I’ll let you know when I have good news to share, though I do have some related tidbits:

  • I did have brunch the other day with a fashion friend who told me that I’m setting my sights too low - my resume reflects a much more senior set of experiences than what I’ve been shooting for. The truth of the matter is, I don’t want a senior role. I just want something I can live comfortably with. I don’t want the stress of a large staff (or maybe even a small staff?). I want to work for another 10 years and then comfortably hang up my hat. I have to figure out a way to get that across to employers. I’m still working on it.

  • I talked the other day with a man I used to work with at the company before my last company. This guy was a big VP and we had a lot of interaction together. Back in the day, he was horribly inappropriate with me and likely several of my counterparts. He used to text me every day about my outfit choices - especially my shoes (total foot fetish stuff). He ended up getting divorced and eventually married a former colleague of mine. I follow them both on the socials and hadn’t heard from him in a while, but I reconnected with him during my job search as he had left my former company and is a CEO of a smaller company and still fairly connected. He’s been trying to help me with my search, but he’s also gotten a bit flirty again. It made me uncomfortable because on the socials he’s very happily married to my former colleague. Finally he came right out and told me that he and his wife are poly and it was clear he was pushing for a date of some sort. Ugh. Gross. I had to tactfully shift the conversation back to business, and he asked for my resume, but he’s also gone silent on me again.

  • So, so much silent treatment in the job hunt these days. This is not news - I just wanted to point it out again because it’s really, really annoying and such a big part of my life right now.

  • I finally heard from my neighbor. I saw him driving down the street while I walked Martini. He slowed down and rolled his window down to say hello. He’s weird and gave me shit about not getting back to him (after he didn’t make any plans to see him - why would I get back to him when he’s got no game???). He’s putting it back on me and I’m not having it. We’ll never get together and I guess that’s just fine.

  • Have you ever done one of those meetup.com events? I’m trying out a new meetup group tonight - it’s a “foodie group” and the plan is to meet at one of my favorite noodle houses. Now that’s a plan I can get behind! I don’t know anyone, so this should be interesting! I think I’ve just been in my apartment too long and have ants in my pants and need some social interaction. Noodles with Strangers seems fairly normal in my abnormal world right about now!

More updates to follow,
GS


WhatDreamsMayCome September 08, 2022

I've done Meet Up with an Adventure Group. It was decent as an outlet. I'm too critical of people to really get along with anyone on an extended basis though. ;-)
Good thing I like my own company.
A hiking group was actually our best outlet.

ninakir88 September 08, 2022

I’ve done meetup.com “back in the day” hiking groups and totally loved it

Complicated Disaster September 08, 2022

Hopefully your mum will respond quickly to antibiotics!
Noodles with Strangers sounds amazing! Enjoy! Xx

plushcreep September 08, 2022

Tara and I did a meetup once and I decided to have a little fun by pretending I was an audiologist. I even gave medical advice to a few folks. Fortunately, I'd been writing audiology copy for a few years by that point and was able to convincingly pull off the charade because I knew what I was talking about.

Palmtreesandzebras September 09, 2022

I did a meetup group at a comedy show. My husband and I met a nice couple, but it didn't go anywhere after the show. We exchanged numbers with a nice woman who ended up texting us nudes of her on the nude beach, so that was weird.

Win some you lose some, I guess.

With that said I would go to one again.

Ginger Snap Palmtreesandzebras ⋅ September 09, 2022

Haha...ok, the nude photos is hilarious! You never know what to expect!

bobbi01 September 09, 2022

God there are some creepy men out there!

sudare September 09, 2022

I hope your mum will get better soon. Bronchitis consumes her energy.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.