September Currents in Magical Realism

  • Sept. 5, 2022, 10:19 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

current book
Right now I am half through The Salt God’s Daughter. On paper this book should be right up my alley (magical realism, ocean themes) but I haven’t gotten into it. It’s kind of like White Oleander as written by Stephanie Klein trying to mimic Alice Hoffman? Perhaps I’ll like it more by the end. I am currently 9 books behind on my goal of averaging a book a day in 2022 but feel good about making it as I hope to catch up over the holidays.

current magazine
n/a

current TV
Old episodes of Law & Order SVU, Friends, Catfish in the background while reading…and A loves this show Bargain Hunters about English people at a flea market where they get a budget to buy stuff and then try and sell it at auction. They almost never make any profit and usually lose money but everyone seems so thrilled to be there.

current podcast
None really but I would like to listen to one that will hypnotise me into exercising, eating well, not procrastinating and not binge drinking. Recommendations welcomed.

current newsletter
I actually paused my nytimes.com membership because the morning newsletters would come at like 8pm our time and get me upset about the state of the world just when I wanted to be winding down for the evening

current food
Eating lunch of baked tofu in a ginger marinade with brown rice as I type this. Had 2 poached eggs (made in cunning tiny silicone cups that look like boobs) for brekkie this morning.

current drink
Water, espresso, iced green tea in my gigantic mason jar that was one of the few things I missed in the 4 months it took for our stuff to arrive. Trying to drink less wine as really, what is the point?

current color(s)
On me: mostly black, sometimes red or british racing green
Around the house: mostly greys, blonde wood, slate floor

current candle
Tom Ford F*cking Fabulous - A got a few for me awhile back mostly for the name/design a year or two ago but it’s kind of ruined me for other candles.

current outfit

Oversized men’s Comme De Garcons Play black cardigan with red heart with googly eyes, unbottoned
Drapey black Amazon essentials crewneck teeshirt
Cozy & soft flared leggings from SHEIN (anything from their FeatherFit GLOWMODE range is so comfy and buttery soft.) The bootcut feels a bit 1999 to me because I am old.
Black no-show socks

current product endorsement
I finally got a motorised sit/stand desk with my WFH allowance and it’s just the best ever
Work from home desk chair - gamechanger, I was in one of those clear plastic ghost chairs and while I like the look, even with a cushion it was painful to sit for very long
These glass tupperwares are so great, I love them
A got me a robot vacuum for my birthday! It’s amazing!

current purchases
We bought a apartment and a car (!)
Our unit came mostly furnished so we have so much stuff now that we would probably never think of buying like nespresso machine, silicone egg poaching cups, two televisions, microwave, toaster, lots of random kitchen stuff. But I like it!

current wishlist
Nothing tangible - I currently own more than I ever have
Intangible - I would like to be back to my 2016 level of fitness within a year. For the sake of my wardrobe and my health.

current creativity
My handwriting has gotten atrocious so sometimes on calls I do script/calligraphy with a fountain pen in a notebook. It may be slightly improving.

current anticipation
I ordered a walking pad / underdesk treadmill thing and I’m excited for that to arrive and hopefully complete the wfh setup
I’ve been working from the office 2x a week but may cut down, the desks/chairs are so low and the thermostat is kept much higher than I’d like

current cravings
Sleep, water, caffeine

current happenings
Thursday we went to an event where 10 students presented their dissertation research in 3 minutes, like a mini-TEDx talk. Very cute and more interesting than you’d think.
Friday worked during the day then drove up to the Snowy Mountains for a houseshare with one of A’s colleagues and her friends. We don’t ski but it was nice to see snow. I was kind of nervous about sharing the house with people but it went just fine. Did our own thing during the day and just got together for communal meals and our first Aussie BBQ.
We woke up early Sunday morning and drove back to town. We decided to park in an area we haven’t been to yet and had a nice brunch overlooking the water. It was Australian Father’s Day so lots of families and dogs out. Walked around a bit by the water, then went home and took a nap. Got back in the car and went out to buy groceries for the week.
A is doing “Step-tember” with a goal of at least 10k steps a day so we’ve been getting out for walks each morning. This has been good to get me back into a routine. The sunrises have been beautiful and we even saw hot air balloons which was really pretty against the morning sky.


Last updated September 06, 2022


Jinn September 06, 2022

I too am hugely impressed by a book a day . The best I can ever do is a book in two days …

Complicated Disaster September 06, 2022

Crumbs. I barely find any time for books at the moment. I'm a bit inspired by your wfh arrangement. I should look into something more active! xx

Satine Complicated Disaster ⋅ September 06, 2022

I will keep you posted but so far very worth it. Also, you have a pool - creative wfh!

Complicated Disaster Satine ⋅ September 06, 2022

Ahh yeah. I mean I do quite a lot of swimming at lunch etc xx

Athena September 06, 2022

What an egg-cellent adventure!

CharminglyNeurotic September 06, 2022

OMG! Stephanie Klein reference! I haven't thought about her (and how annoying she is) in years. How 2008!!!!!!

Satine CharminglyNeurotic ⋅ September 06, 2022

I actually thought of you when I wrote that. Not necessarily her writing but protagonist is a jewish redhead with the childhood nickname of Moose.

Satine CharminglyNeurotic ⋅ September 06, 2022

also [gemidevi] recommended me a podcast, if you're not already aware sounds right up your alley https://slate.com/culture/2021/02/apology-line-podcast-review-allan-bridge-true-crime-wondery.html

CharminglyNeurotic Satine ⋅ September 06, 2022

This podcast looks good. Have you listened?

Satine CharminglyNeurotic ⋅ September 06, 2022

no I don't listen to podcasts but I read the summary and it's super interesting sounding. I had never heard of The Apology Line.

CharminglyNeurotic Satine ⋅ September 06, 2022

Me either. I don't have Wondery Plus and don't really want to pay for it. But it sounds so interesting.

hot-lips September 06, 2022

Wow, I thought I read fairly fast - but not a book a day standards! I also don't have the attention span for it anymore. My handwriting is also awful these days because i spend all my time either typing on a laptop for work, or typing on my phone. Have a listen to Shxts N Gigs podcast - not at all what you were asking for, but in case you want something funny and different. The guys are also on all social media and show clips/highlights from the podcast.

Calicakes September 06, 2022

So envious of your new life in Australia. I want to go to Australia in 2024. I watch a few Aussie You Tubers and I love the lifestyle there. Are you still planning on doing your swimming?

dreamer71 September 06, 2022

I’ve been considering an under desk treadmill! I feel like walking while I work/type might feel awkward but hopefully get used to that? I need to get more movement in throughout the day!

Satine dreamer71 ⋅ September 06, 2022

I will let you know how it is! People generally say you can type, take calls, etc. smoothly at around 2-3mph

plushcreep September 06, 2022

I've never heard of an under desk treadmill, so I clicked on your link. Pretty slick! Great way to get in some steps without ever leaving the office.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.