Opportunities Abound in Everyday Ramblings

  • Sept. 2, 2022, 5:54 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

From the garden Wednesday morning. The first haul of all three varieties of tomatoes. I left a bunch of the smaller yellow ones out for my neighbors yesterday.

Miss E. is turning 22 next Friday and living in Harlem with her boyfriend and calico cat and settling into her new job as the undergraduate admin in the Italian department at NYU. She rarely keeps in touch with her two great aunts, but we continue to remain available and interested in her well-being. She has grown into the sophisticated and beautiful young woman we knew was in the whip smart creative and adorable child she was.

We just had a few very hot days, but it is now modulating into a more normal late summer weather pattern. The air quality leaves something to be desired, however.

I was pretty sure I would get a rent increase but was a little shocked when I found out yesterday that it went up $110.00 a month. That might not seem like much, but it is $1,320.00 a year and for a person with a fixed income it is a bit worrisome. I don’t know how I am going to keep absorbing increases like this with the supplemental health insurance going up each year.

My classes are going well, but I could use a few more students, particularly for my evening classes. I can’t keep growing my student base at the rate that everything is going up in price. Some of my magazine and streaming subscriptions are going to need to go. Plus, I might be able to get a better deal on the Internet.

Mrs. Sherlock is happy to be more engaged with the outside world. She is planning a hiking trip later this month over in Eastern Oregon, a place where in the winter she has been snowshoeing. And she is going to Chautauqua in New York for a lecture series in October. Something that has been rescheduled about 3 times.

In the meantime, though the plan is to go for another flat neighborhood walk this Sunday. This time in an area of more modest homes but with exuberant front gardens.

The theme for our old man’s book club Sunday after next is to read something we have written. That reminds me, I need to watch the Carl Sandburg recital thing that one of the members did last week.

And there is a bunch of League stuff to do. I am procrastinating on that a bit, but I need to hop on it. Most of the members of the local board are in my group so I need to not be perceived of as a slacker.

I do hope I get a burst of energy in the next few weeks. It feels good to get things done. I have been practicing not being self-critical lately. And also, not being so opinionated about others.

There is such joy in doing small things well.

Opportunities for that abound.


Last updated September 02, 2022


Jinn September 02, 2022

That rent increase is a lot. I was shocked ( and dismayed when our electric bill went from $355.00 a month to $455.00 a month level pay . For the same amount of electricity. No explanation ; just prices have gone up :-( . It’s one of the reasons our present house is becoming difficult to afford. :-( When we finally get settled I am going to look for a part time job.

Zipster September 03, 2022

Oh the tomatoes are beautiful and I can't believe Miss E is 22. Time flies. The rent thing is crazy. Here, many are paying ridiculous amounts and that is per roomate. No wonder young adults feel hopeless.

Deleted user September 07, 2022

Those tomatoes look so beautifully fresh.

Yeah, I worry about a rent increase here. They told me it's usually $30 to $50, but who knows with inflation? That is the one thing that scares me about retirement, should I ever have one. It's one thing to just go and get another job if you need to, but a fixed income is something else entirely.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.