Joke's on Them* in These Foolish Things

  • Sept. 2, 2022, 10:09 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

As we approach the Labor Day Weekend, here I sit in the Treehouse all up in my feels this morning.

I woke up late, snoozing my alarm over and over because I don’t really have anything to do today until 1:00 when I have yet another introductory phone interview with an HR person who keeps fucking up our times. She’s the one who just blew off our appointment earlier this week. I gave her another chance, though I’m not very excited about this particular job. Let’s see if she even makes it.

Yesterday I had a phone call with HR from one of the companies who just blew me off after telling me they were “so excited” to see my application. Apparently my email reply went to this person’s spam? At least they were super apologetic, but if you’re a company’s representative, don’t you think you’d have that taken care of?? WTF. This is a very large company and one that you ALL would know - globally!

Bottom line is, the salary for this job was way, waaaaayyyy off and even the HR person said that they are having a salary review next week to make sure they are competitive. I’ve heard for years that this company doesn’t pay at all, and they weren’t kidding. I couldn’t make that salary work even if I tried.

Tried to walk the dog, but it started raining on us - pouring, even. How fitting. Came home.

I turned on the Today show and Brandi Carlile happened to be the musical guest on the Plaza today. I loooove her music, but I sometimes have a hard time listening to it because it makes me cry. And not just cry, but sometimes sob. Like, heaving, out of control bawling. It’s been a while since I’ve bawled, but I think I needed to hear this song this morning.

The second verse of the song The Joke goes like this:

You get discouraged, don’t you, girl?
It’s your brother’s world for a while longer
We gotta dance with the devil on a river
To beat the stream
Call it living the dream, call it kicking the ladder
They come to kick dirt in your face
To call you weak and then displace you
After carrying your baby on your back across the desert
I saw your eyes behind your hair
And you’re looking tired, but you don’t look scared

How did the universe know that this was so fitting for me today? If I hadn’t gotten up late, I would have never heard this song this morning.

And then, the chorus:

Let ‘em laugh while they can
Let ‘em spin, let ‘em scatter in the wind
I have been to the movies, I’ve seen how it ends
And the joke’s on them

Yes, I’ve been down for a couple of weeks now, but I’m here and goddammit, I’m healthy and I still have the luxury of waiting this out for a bit longer until THE right thing comes along.

OK. Looks like it stopped raining.

Dog walk, take 2! Let’s do this, Friday!

Love,
GS

Update: I must be manifesting this shit when I write it down, but I can’t make this up…the HR person who missed our original phone call and apologized and asked to reschedule for today has just MISSED our meeting for a second time. From now on, I will NOT be writing about the way companies are screwing up and I will only be writing when something GOOD happens - which will, will, WILL be soon!!!!!!


Last updated September 02, 2022


Florentine September 02, 2022

You truly have such a beautiful spirit. ❤️ I hope a post-downpour rainbow pops up for you today, literally and metaphorically!

Ginger Snap Florentine ⋅ September 02, 2022

Awww, thank you, kind friend ❤️ There's still time for a rainbow for sure!

woman in the moon September 02, 2022

Best of luck. Life is kinda sucky a lot of the time. I'm not having the best morning myself.
Thanks for Brandi.

Ginger Snap woman in the moon ⋅ September 02, 2022

It must be going around. I'm sorry!

bobbi01 September 02, 2022

I love that clip of Brandi with Joni Mitchell that is doing the rounds. Shame on that company.

Deleted user September 02, 2022

Good grief, how brutally unprofessional of them.

Mr. Mofo September 02, 2022

I would absolutely ghost that company.

sudare September 02, 2022

I hope you will find a good place to work soon.

Jinn September 03, 2022

It seems like a lot of companies have lost their professionalism these days . Life after Covid. After you get a job I would write the CEO a letter about your experience with them. :-(
I hope your weekend is lovely and that your dream job manifests soon !

WhatDreamsMayCome September 03, 2022

Yes, it will!

plushcreep September 05, 2022

Good god, seriously?!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.