A last resort for addicted and compulsive book buyers, print and electronic, a satire in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • Aug. 29, 2022, 3:55 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I attended my first ABBA (Addictive Book Buyers Anonymous) meeting tonight. And I thought I was bad off? There were people there who were ordering books on Amazon while others were giving their book addiction testimonies. Quite rude. Even I could refrain from this for the first half hour, anyway.

But I think this might be the answer to my SOS. I found out about the group through an online search. I came across their homepage, which was informative and listed meeting times and places. To attend meetings, one must create an account with a user name and password. This seemed reasonable.

The moderator of the group is a former book buying addict from Muncie, Indiana, who realized she needed help when her front door wouldn’t open because it was blocked by piles of unopened Amazon book parcels. She got the Friends of the Library to feel sorry for her with a sobbing tale of woe, and they came and hauled away a Pod full of books for their next sale.

She now gets her books exclusively from the library, but has accumulated $283 in late fines for overdue books she can’t possibly return on time.

At the meeting tonight she asked us for advice about how to avoid getting fines like that in the future because her previous book-buying addiction just about bankrupted her.

She did manage to quit Amazon cold turkey, but said she hasn’t been right in the head ever since.

This was obviously very discouraging for the attendees to hear, as one of the group members told of hitting the Amazon “Buy Now” button compulsively like a rat in one of those Pavlovian experiments. The man, who called himself “Fernando” to protect his identity, said only a “higher power” could prevent his flagrantly obsessive book buying from becoming his own personal “Waterloo.”


Last updated August 29, 2022


Jinn August 29, 2022

That is scary. I love books and I have a huge amount of them . Too many , no doubt.
However I have curtailed buying them severely the last six months. Even I realize space is an issue. :-) and my TBR pile is very large . I need to cull many .

Kristi1971 August 29, 2022

You do mention this is satire...so...are people really that addicted to buying books? I see how people buy and stash diamond paintings, so I imagine there are people addicted to buying books, too. I need to actually go through some of mine and un-haul.

My mom wanted to lend me a book a week or so ago, but I told her that I have 16 waiting in the wings for my reading pleasure. What I didn't tell her was that several were from her from Christmas still. I also got a couple from my step-mom the last time I was there. Ugh. I really don't buy books very often, but...I got caught up buying a subscription box...the pile started to grow. I've since stopped that box, but my sister gave me the Book of the Month box last year for my birthday. Thankfully I don't have to order every month. Just when I really see a book that sparks my interest. Ack!

Oswego Kristi1971 ⋅ August 30, 2022

Lol. It’s actually a satirical look at my own situation, conserably exaggerated for comedic effect, though scarily enough, it’s not THAT far off. That’s what I like to do — make light of my foibles and eccentricities!☺️

I hear what you’re saying. It’s awful hard to not buy books, especially since they make me feel like I’ve got hundreds of interesting friends in my home library of books scattered in piles everywhere. It’s quite frustrating having so many good books to read that you don’t even know where to start!!

ConnieK August 29, 2022

I control my addiction by following one rule: I cannot buy more than I can carry in my arms.

Oswego ConnieK ⋅ August 30, 2022

But what if you make frequent trips, each time loading up your arms?? 🥺

ConnieK Oswego ⋅ August 30, 2022

Nope. No cheating!

Sleepy-Eyed John August 31, 2022

https://www.propublica.org/article/colorado-river-water-shortage-jay-famiglietti

Oswego Sleepy-Eyed John ⋅ September 01, 2022

Thanks for this! I’ve been reading a lot on this subject. This was one of the best interviews yet. ProPublica does great work, and I try to support them as much as I can.

Sleepy-Eyed John Oswego ⋅ September 01, 2022

I don't have the heart to read much about it. Only gets me down.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.