what should i do with my hair color (pics) in Public Consumption

  • Aug. 27, 2022, 1:31 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Okay, so I’ve undergone the arduous process of going blonde without professional help and somehow, SOMEhow, did NOT fuck it the fuck up.

I just wanted to see how it’d look, yanno? I haven’t seen my hair blonde since I was 12, when I started dyeing it and never looked back. (In the below pics, my hair is… maybe a level and a half? lighter than my natural blonde.)

I’ve decided that blonde, on me, looks… fine!

I don’t hate it. I don’t love it. I’m glad I did it just to see what it was like.

I’ll (probably) eventually put together a vid showing you (aka myself, in case I ever decide to do this again) all the stages. BUT NOT TODAY.

Anyway, despite getting it back into pretty incredible shape, I decided to chop a lot of length anyway. FRESH START, BABYYYYY.

alt text

alt text

LOVE THIS CUT. LOVE IT.

But! Now that I’ve been looking at it for longer… It feels very, uh.

It feels very normal?

Like, I am a normal adult with normal adult hair hihowareyou. It just feels wrong somehow.

I look like I’m about to go shopping for artisan candles.

I look like I have a lightly humorous welcome mat.

I look like I belong at the bipartisan healthcare reform conference I’m going to in a couple weeks.

I have no idea if these stereotypes are based in reality, or I invented them entirely in my head because I’m FUCKING WEIRD ABOUT MY HAIR IT TURNS OUT AND OH BOY DO I HAVE SOME THOUGHTS ON THAT WHICH I’LL SAVE FOR ANOTHER TIME. And like, I don’t think I’ve ever thought this way about anyone else’s hair? Especially not now, when zany hair colors are super normalized (where I live, at least) and indicate VERY LITTLE about someone’s personality or interests.

But I just… on me, I can’t seem to adjust to it. It feels like a wig.

I think I’ve outsourced my identity to my hair in truly unhealthy ways, and I didn’t realize it because I’m not actually attached to the hair itself? If I had to shave my head tomorrow, I’d be like “Awwww, this is gonna take a while to grow back out :/” and that’s about it. Shit, I’d probably find it kinda fun to play around with the bald look, since I’ve never shaved my head before and I bet I can do some fun shit!

So I’ve been thinking “woo check me out, I’m NOT unhealthily attached to my hair! Despite all the time I spend doing weird shit to it, I think I’m a little less attached than average…?”

Silly me. As though length is the only aspect of hair that a person can anxiously attach to.

.........okay I didn’t actually mean to get into all this shit. I meant to say, “this blonde combined with this cut makes me feel too normal, please help.”

I’m gonna keep my hair Artisan Candle Shopper Blonde until after I get back from the conference, because it’s probably legitimately good for my career to give off “socially liberal fiscally conservative volunteer zumba instructor for at-risk youths” vibes at this place full of policy people and some state legislators, since we’re all there to “network” god I hate fake email jobs.

Point is, I have a couple weeks to figure out what I wanna do and get all the necessary supplies, but I’m 98% sure I am NOT keeping this shit blonde.

The question is, what do I do?

I have a fairly blank canvas here, so I don’t wanna immediately jump back to my standard reddish orange (which is hard to get out). I wanna try some new shit!

Bear in mind, when it comes to semi-permanent dye, I have the shocking ability to fuck around and find out that I nailed it every fucking time.

I mean. Look. This was my first ever attempt at a gradient.

alt text

I had no right. NO RIGHT.

What I’m saying is, despite my utter lack of training and deficit of focus, the sky’s the limit with Hair Possibilities. Especially with a fairly light blonde as my starting point, AND short hair that’s much, much easier to dye than long hair.

TL;DR TELL ME WHAT I SHOULD DO TO MY “AD MODEL FOR SUDDENLY SALAD” HAIR, PLZ.

KTHXBAI


Last updated August 27, 2022


Timmy™ August 27, 2022

Always reminds me of Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. How Clementine would change her hair color a lot. Really aided the passage of time in the film. Hrm

Any associations with past colors you're feeling? Or is your headspace a different color? Just thoughts. : )

rhizome August 27, 2022

i am also very overinvested in my hair as personality, though i'm not sure what kind of person has mermaid-red fluorescent hair other than a GAY FEMME

you are very good at hair dye and i hope you do something weird soon! the blonde looks cute but it doesn't look like you, as i understand you!!!

pangolin August 27, 2022

honestly I dig it? I don't get artisanal candle or lightly humorous welcome mat vibes but, I do believe strongly in lookin how you wanna look and if you don't feel You then I fully support your getting weird with it.

there's nothing more alienating than fitting in at a conference lmaoooo

synapse August 27, 2022

I love it honestly. I think the trend is for less copper/more ash though, but that's even harder and without seeing both I think I'd prefer warmer blonde on you

Jigger August 27, 2022

I feel like I should apologize for how much I like both the cut and the color on you, but that gradient, fuuuuck.

Ophidia August 27, 2022 (edited August 27, 2022)

Edited

Dude I think you look adorable as heck!! That cut is fabulous. And the color doesn’t read as boring to me. You have a ton of personality AS IS, which will so obviously shine through the second someone talks to you. PLUS, there’s more to your look besides your hair, there’s also your clothes and your glasses (polka dots!) so your look as a whole definitely won’t come across as boring. Normal hair can still be fun because it’s a change for YOU.

I totally get your impulse to project thru your hair, tho. When I was doing fun colors, my hair was a way for me to counteract my default shyness by silently telling people “Don’t assume I’m dull or passive just because I have social anxiety!!” It was a way to reject any perceptions of mousiness someone might have about me. It was like armor.

Before I stopped dying my hair, I wanted galaxy colors sooo bad, but didn’t have the means to do it. You should do that so I can live through you, please & thanks. 😘 https://pin.it/7m74OpV

Narrator August 29, 2022

it’s probably legitimately good for my career to give off “socially liberal fiscally conservative volunteer zumba instructor for at-risk youths” vibes at this place full of policy people and some state legislators, since we’re all there to “network” I laughed until I realized I was weeping in recognition, move along, nothing to see here
I mean, I'm envious of that 'effortless curls' look you have, but such is the curse of ridiculously fine straight hair. The cut is great!

One Angry Dwarf Narrator ⋅ August 30, 2022 (edited August 30, 2022)

Edited

omg. So i've been making that specific "volunteer zumba instructor for at-risk youths" joke to various people since I wrote this (and immediately laughed aloud at my own shit because i'm extremely cool), and since then I have discovered two things.

1, a volunteer org where people bring lasagnas to people who request a lasagna "for any reason." The average wait time for your requested lasagna is 34 days.

I discovered this through my artisan bean Facebook group, in which a woman named Wendy bragged about how she brought someone beans instead of lasagna.

Wendy... You had ONE JOB.

2, my friend who's at a different healthcare conference than the one I'm going to next week just screenshotted the title of a seminar on workforce shortages titled "We're Not Suffering from a Yoga Deficiency."

Basically... BASICALLY, it turns out my satire was not satire at all, it was just extremely plausible misinformation.

OOPS I DID A FAKE NEWS ABOUT WHITE LADIES

caramelchicken October 09, 2022

Your hair looks gorgeous natural and with colour. Do what you want! But yes, that is so unfair you managed to get such an epic gradient first go of fucking around!!

Deleted user April 24, 2023

No matter what color or cut you choose, embrace it enjoy it. It helps that you have a face that flatters anything you do with your hair.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.