Containing My Dreams in These Foolish Things

  • Aug. 13, 2022, 5:54 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Have I ever told you that I dream about living in a container house? I’ve been thinking about this for years, and the thought just doesn’t seem to go away. A few years ago, I took a little road trip with Martini and ended up staying here and had an AMAZING little weekend. While the thought of living full time in a single container seems a little claustrophobic, I think that two or three containers might work for me, depending on the location and situation.

Check out this one.

And maybe this one? It’s a 20’ container stacked on top of a 40’ container (still too tight).

But what about THIS ONE?! Five containers!

And this one is WAY TOO MUCH, but it is inspiring nonetheless (and personal to me because I watched this thing being built every weekend on my walks with SexyPants back in the day).

Anyway, the dream has been nagging at me lately - especially since the two jobs that I seem to be top contender for are both remote positions. What if I could work anywhere in the world and I have the opportunity to build a container home?!

WHY NOT?

So I’ve started down the path of research and thinking about what I’d want and need in order to make this happen. I’ve found some great information on YouTube and just online in general and I think it would need to go something like this:

  1. SNAG THAT JOB! Honestly, either one will work for me, and I’m especially thinking about the Structure Company because…hello…could this somehow be the missing link to starting my dream project?

  2. Location, location, location. I’d have to find a place where I can actually do a build like this. I’d also want to make sure that the location is not remote. Some people want to be out in the woods or the edge of a cliff, but I don’t - I want to have easy access to city utilities, sewage, medical access, etc.

  3. Logistics. I think this would come naturally with the location since I’d like to stay within at least a city/town location-wise. You gotta be able to back a crane into the space to get those containers set.

  4. Cost. Duh. Maybe that’s step 1? I guess not. Everything has to be taken into consideration for the cost. I guess I should maybe say Budget. What can I afford?

  5. Design. Oooh! The fun part! Any architects here on PB? I would love for it to somehow be some kind of stacked configuration that’s overlooking an interesting view. Lots of natural light, so lots of cutting out in the design. And a balcony - maybe cantilevered? In my vision, I’m overlooking trees and maybe a pond or lake. I dream of calling it “TH2”, as in Treehouse #2.

  6. Interior. I am fantasizing about Industrial meets The Wild West with a dash of Femininity (to balance out all of that testosterone of a steel structure and toughness, but definitely not sweet, more of a softness). I want it clean but not minimal, yet in no way maximal, you know? Comfort is key. Oh and maybe some kind of indoor/outdoor shower situation? This is my favorite part!

Anyway, just getting these thoughts down on paper.

For now, I guess it’s back to working on my online portfolio (which I had to put on hold while I worked on a presentation for the shoe company). That was a fun little break!

Happy Saturday, loves!
GS


Complicated Disaster August 13, 2022

You'd need a LOT of insulation!! Xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ August 13, 2022

Yep. Part of the plan!

plushcreep August 13, 2022

There is a certain charm to those tiny homes/containers, but I'm claustrophobic. I probably couldn't handle living in one for an extended period.

Ginger Snap plushcreep ⋅ August 13, 2022

Yeah. That’s why I’d have to open up the containers in a major way. Lots and lots of conversion would need to be done.

Sugar Magnolia August 13, 2022

My daughter is building a tiny home in my (large) backyard. It's really cute and perfect for her.

Ginger Snap Sugar Magnolia ⋅ August 13, 2022

Oh wow! That’s really cool!

Parliament August 14, 2022

I want one too, but I want mine out in the middle of nowhere. :-)

Ginger Snap Parliament ⋅ August 14, 2022

Ha! I love it. And I understand it, too. 😊

WhatDreamsMayCome August 15, 2022

Outside showers are the bomb!
Cool dreams.

Lux Lunae August 15, 2022

I mean, now you have to do it because I need to see how this plays out and what you come up with. I've always loved the idea of a container home. It's such an awesome way to tap into ones creativity and to have something that is truly yours, because you would be involved in every step of the creation process.

Ginger Snap Lux Lunae ⋅ August 15, 2022

Haha! I know. I've written it down - it must be so. 😊

bobbi01 August 16, 2022

How much fun would this be to plan?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.