All the Things In My Brain in These Foolish Things

  • Aug. 11, 2022, 11:03 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Thank you for all the juju from my last entry, all! I had four separate Teams Meeting video chats with the fashion shoe company on Tuesday. They all seemed to go very well, but just like dating, sometimes I think that I’ve had the best date ever and then I never hear anything back from a person. This time I have it in my MIND that they are going to reach back out…possibly for more interviews, but at least for the next steps.

Yesterday, I spoke with another Home Decor company based out of Los Angeles (remote role) and then a local company in CPG which would be a hybrid role of 3 days/week in office (about a 40-minute commute) and 2 days working from home. Very doable!

I will also be speaking with the President of the Structure Company next Tuesday. This will be Interview #5 with this company. They are really dragging their feet on this one, but I can understand. They want to make sure that I’m the right fit. I’ve been very passionate in the interview process, but I don’t feel super comfortable with the product, so maybe that shows?

And the Dream Company has posted that role that I really, really want AGAIN! This, after I sent their head of HR my project pack and they looked at my LinkedIn profile. I have not heard a word back from them - not a no…not a go away…nothing. I can take a hint, but damn.

I am reminded of the manifestation mantra every day - especially the part that goes, “I do not chase, I attract…” and can’t help but wonder if I’m chasing? On the attraction side, I certainly don’t feel like I’m mesmerizing people with my charm and wit, but who fucking knows? I do know for a FACT, however, that I have what it takes to be successful in ALL of these roles.

Okay, enough work stuff. I feel like I should be getting PAID for interviewing, ha! I guess I am with unemployment, so.

If you follow my socials, you’ve seen I’ve been pretty busy with all of my medical issues lately. Really, it’s all about keeping up with the niggling little things going on as well as checking on things that have happened over the past few years. It’s the price of staying alive, I guess.

So, a few weeks ago I had to see a dermatologist about some spots that had shown up on my skin that looked like little lesions that weren’t going away. There were two lesions that showed up at about the same time in maybe February? And they lingered and lingered and at one point I nicked one on my leg with a razor so it bled and finally healed, but the one on my arm wasn’t doing anything but glaring back at me every time I looked at it.

Guess what? Turns out it was skin CANCER. Fucking cancer. But you know what? It was a basal cell carcinoma and the docs are like, meh. We’ll scrape it and burn it and you should be just fine! And if you find any more spots like this, we’ll scrape them and burn them also! Like it’s no biggie!

The thing is, you don’t want to get them on your face because somehow those suckers get all freaky and leave you with scars. Google “basal cell carcinoma on face”. Or don’t. You may not want to look at that shit.

Regardless, my new dermatologist bestie literally took 5 minutes to come in, say hello, shoot some novocaine in my arm, scrape the spot with some kind of scalpel spoon and then burn the area to a crisp (skin burning smells wild) and was like, OK BYEEEEEEEE and practically ran out the door. It was that easy. Little ¾” scab on my inner arm. Hopefully no more CANCER for a good, long while (like, FOREVER).

Anyway, that was actually the second medical thing I had to do on Monday. The FIRST thing I actually did was get my annual CT scan of my head to make sure the ol’ aneurysm was still behaving and not causing any havoc (read: getting bigger). Remember, I had that vertigo issue and have been a little dizzy ever since. I understand that positional vertigo likely doesn’t have anything to do with stuff going on in the brain, but I figured if there was now a brain tumor in there along with the aneurysm, that a CT scan would show that, so the scan was timely.

I always love this radiology team at the hospital where I get my head CTs. They are so careful, friendly and FUNNY! And I always take a valium before I do a CT scan because it’s still a scary procedure and it’s always anxiety producing, so it’s sometimes a little like a party when I go in for these tests (okay, not really, but at least I’m not paralyzed with fear).

Bottom line, it was all good. I’ve actually gotten my results back and all is stable in my head from an aneurysm or tumor perspective. So that’s GREAT!

But wouldn’t you know that this morning I woke up with a mild case of vertigo?

It was nothing like the first time when I thought I was having a massive STROKE, but the room was spinning when I woke up and I was able to position my head in such a way that it went away in about 15 seconds.

Ugh. I don’t know guys. I think it’s just that the crystals in my inner ear are playing around. I need to do the Epley Maneuver again to see if I can get them back in place, but I’m hungry right now so I’m going to make a late brekky and sit outside on the Treehouse balcony with the dog for a bit and get some more fresh air before I dig back into this mothafukkin’ JOB SEARCH.

Laters,
GS


Complicated Disaster August 11, 2022

Have you officially applied for the role with Dream Company? xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ August 11, 2022

I’ve actually officially applied TWICE through their online application process!

Complicated Disaster Ginger Snap ⋅ August 11, 2022

Then they must give you the job!! Xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ August 11, 2022

hahaha! Right? They HAVE to!

Deleted user August 11, 2022

Five interviews? Is that normal in your field? Because in mine, it signifies a lot of bureaucracy, indecision, and a lack of faith in the hiring manager to know what they need in an employee.

Jinn August 11, 2022

I had vertigo yesterday morning when I woke up and it scared the s— out of me but I know it was my ears. Something popped and it diminished greatly . I was so grateful ..
Sending you good juju for your job interviews !

bobbi01 August 11, 2022

I dunno - do you think multiple interview company would be like that with any decisions? That would be v annoying. Glad all the medical stuff went well.

echopod August 11, 2022

Keeping up with this body stuff is HARD. Glad the skin cancer wasn’t the big deal kind!!

Nash August 13, 2022

Is it possible that potential employers can read about your medical issues on social media? Do you think that might work against you?

Ginger Snap Nash ⋅ August 13, 2022

I'm sure they can see my socials, but honestly, I know it's just the nature of the type of business I do. The last time I was unemployed, it took me 10 months to find another job. Best Bud was laid off from our former company and it took her 9 months. Another woman in the biz took 10 months as well. I feel like I'm on the right track, as sucky and tedious as it is.

ninakir88 August 14, 2022

oh my goodness im so sorry, that is scary

WhatDreamsMayCome August 16, 2022

It is good that all is stable in your head. ;-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.