Baby name help… in Life Lessons

  • Aug. 7, 2022, 4:55 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Alright I need some advice!
We don’t plan to have kids anytime soon but I’m just dreaming of the future!

Here’s some background info: my MIL and SIL have a very strained relationship with me - they don’t particularly like me, they are rude and snobby to me and they pester me every time I see them about when we are having kids… super awkwardly and in public… I don’t mind jokes about it but they bring it up all. The. Time…. They are super weird about it too, we obviously don’t have a close relationship and when they are asking me if we did it last night, or they don’t care if I die as long as they get a baby it’s just awkward…

So my thing is my husband has a generic common middle name that has been passed down (his dad, his grandpa, great grandpa) so obviously if we have a boy we will pass on my husbands last name!
My family has a thing where everyone’s middle name starts with the same letter - mine is a generic common name, so we decided if we have a girl we could pass my middle name on to her!
My MIL and SIL found out my middle name and informed me I can’t use it on my kids because it’s “cursed” they say it is bad luck because 2 of my MILs siblings and 1 nephew had that same middle name and all 3 have passed away (due to natural causes, different times and stages in life) so she said I can’t use it. Me and my husband don’t believe it is cursed or jinxed or bad luck at all, we just think they are being a pain. We 100% wouldn’t be doing it to be petty, it’s because we want to pass on both of our middle names.
So now my question is: do we use my middle name or not? Is it insensitive of us if we do? My husband says we can use it it’s not a big deal.. I just don’t know if it’s rude and insensitive…


Last updated August 07, 2022


Jodie August 07, 2022

I would be using a name from a family member that has passed on and as for the middle names why not use both of them? But you might have to make then so they are either female related or male related. Like if your middle name is Michelle you might have to use Michael. But yeah I would do what you want and they can go screw themselves sideways....

CountryGirl Jodie ⋅ August 07, 2022

Yeah we want to use my middle name for a girl, my husbands middle name for a boy that way we get to use both of them - that’s my husbands attitude about it, he says just do it anyway

Jodie CountryGirl ⋅ August 08, 2022

I would and screw them....But how are you going to decide on the given name and do you think you might switch the middle name and call your child that? My dad uses his middle name as his given name because he didn't like his given name and thought it didn't suit him.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.