Annoying Updates* in These Foolish Things

  • July 26, 2022, 8:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

[Shoe Company] Interview: Got all ready, zhuzhed just in case it was video instead of phone (was ready for both), reviewed the job description, crafted my questions for this particular role, then grabbed a coffee AND a water in case my throat went dry. And waited. And waited. And waited! 5 minutes…then 10 minutes…then I was like, bullshit. I double and triple checked my calendar and their booking website (this is one of those systems where you - the interviewee - goes in the HR person’s calendar and you book your time). And then I sent an email to the HR person, telling her I was waiting and asking her if all was ok. Then I went back to that calendar system and booked myself another timeslot for Thursday (the earliest booking I could get). She did eventually write me back, telling me that she thought our interview was an hour later. I said no, but I could actually speak an hour later if that was ok and she said no - that she saw I booked another time for the interview and let’s just speak then. OK. But she OWES ME!!

[Clarification: I re-read the above and it’s a little confusing. First of all, the interviewee is the one that books in their online system, and she had it down at the correct time, but then somehow screwed up her own calendar. She also apologized profusely in her email back to me - I understand how that can happen, and I’m not super mad, just annoyed because prepping for, and actually having the interview was essentially my whole day. So for that not to happen threw me off my game. I’ll get it back tomorrow, but today was pretty much a bust.]

Neighbor Dude: Do you remember me telling you about the neighbor I met on the 4th of July? The one I’ve now seen several times out on the trail and did a walk and talk with? The one who kept texting me “GM” (the very least you can type as a good morning, right?). Well, he keeps telling me that we should get together before he travels again. And he told me that before his last travels, too. I keep saying “sure” but he never gets to the doing something part. Well, last Thursday we ended up meeting at the building’s observation deck and having a couple of glasses of wine. It was nice. He was good company. He’s clearly an interesting person and I like him. Yes. I’d like to hang out more. But he’s just bare minimum-ing it all over the place and I’m over it. I no longer answer the “GM”. Because wtf is that? He came outside once while I was walking Martini and was like, “we should do something” and I nodded my head yes and then…nothing. I’M NOT GOING TO COME UP WITH THE SOMETHING!! FUCK THAT.

Donut Cowboy: Remember this is the guy who walks my park on the weekends because his office is closeby. He’s married but he chats up the ladies he meets on the pathway. I still like talking with him, and he still bugs me about dating (not him…just dating in general). So I made the mistake of telling him about Neighbor Dude (above) and as soon as I did, I happened to catch a glimpse of him far off in the distance, but not too far that he wouldn’t recognize me. So. The thing about Neighbor Dude is that he is Jamaican, so when Donut Cowboy was like, ”that guy over there?” I said, yes, he’s from Jamaica. And of course, the idiot Donut Cowboy immediately says loudly, “He’s from Jamaica, mon!” Ughhhhhh! I wanted to slap the dude! Why are people so fucking stupid sometimes? I was like, shhhhhh! Don’t be a racist ASSHOLE! What a jerk. I walked away from him quickly. When will I ever learn not to open my big mouth to some people?

Trail Walking as Dating App: Seems this is how I meet people now. On Sunday morning, I decided to take Martini walking on the city trail I used to walk before I moved from downtown. It was a gorgeous morning. The walk is so pretty and the people-watching is divine! Shortly after we started to get a nice pace going, a man came up from behind and started walking with us. And he didn’t just do a quick hello, he ended up walking with me and Martini for TWO MILES. Now, that’s all fine and good, but ever so slightly uncomfortable as I wasn’t feeling an attraction. I did keep thinking how awesome it would be if someone I was HOT for just came up from behind and started walking and talking with me. But unfortunately, this wasn’t him. I do have to say, the guy was super nice and very well spoken and seemed to have his shit totally together, so it wasn’t a terrible walk by any means, but at one point I realized where we actually were and told him that I had to turn around and walk back. He was all, “OK! Nice chatting with you!” and went on his merry way. All good! Maybe we should keep trying this tactic?

Can’t remember what else I was going to write about…maybe mom and dad’s renovation? I don’t feel like writing about that now. I think I’m going to take myself to the big multi-level mall and walk around and people watch. I’m just tired of thinking about job stuff and waiting for phone calls…

Until later,
GS


Last updated July 27, 2022


WhatDreamsMayCome July 26, 2022

Not a good sign that the interviewer wasn't responsible.

Ginger Snap WhatDreamsMayCome ⋅ July 27, 2022

Yeah. It sucked for that to happen, but she apologized like crazy. These things seem to happen a LOT when looking for jobs.

Nash July 26, 2022

Big red flag on the shoe people.

Ginger Snap Nash ⋅ July 27, 2022

Yeah, but I'm cutting some slack. She was so apologetic and honestly, I've been through so much WORSE during this bout of unemployment. I've been ghosted more than once during this experience.

bobbi01 July 26, 2022

Looking for work us exhausting. Take that break.

Ginger Snap bobbi01 ⋅ July 27, 2022

It really is.

Complicated Disaster July 26, 2022

Those interview booking apps are a nightmare! I had all sorts of trouble with them when I was job hunting! xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ July 27, 2022

Annoying!!

Jinn July 26, 2022

Sorry that interview did not work. Damn!

Ginger Snap Jinn ⋅ July 27, 2022

Well, it should work on Thursday.

Jinn Ginger Snap ⋅ July 27, 2022

Good !

Deleted user July 27, 2022

The shoe people need the boot.

I'll show myself out now.

Ginger Snap Deleted user ⋅ July 27, 2022

You always sneak(er) those in!!

🤣🤣🤣

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.