All G in Adventures in paradise

  • July 25, 2022, 12:57 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I had my progress scan at the doctor this morning. They were busy and running behind so I got in 35 minutes after my appointment time, but it went well. It’s the first time I’ve taken off my stocking all week, so I was a bit worried about how it was going to look. I told him how the first 36 hours were intense.
Things are looking good, and how they should. I can see the difference already! In just a week. I find it a bit crazy with the technology these days. I mean, I could still feel my veins through the stocking, so I knew they were still there, but visually alone the difference is pretty cool, a week in. Initially, the doctor said he would get me booked in for a DVT scan, but upon checking there it was hurting on my leg as he prodded with the ultrasound thingy, it hurt more where he had gone into the leg, so he was satisfied that I was A-OK.
I can remove the stocking, which I am thankful for with showering. I only succeeded twice with keeping it dry despite wrapping it thoroughly in glad wrap each evening. The doctor has suggested that I keep wearing it however, as as I’m back to work this week, I think I’ll just wear it there underwear my trousers, so noone will see it. I still can’t do anything strenuous for a further week.

I’m booked in for three weeks time for the next part of my treatment. I asked how long it will take, and he said, “Around an hour. Most doctors only take 20 minutes but I like to be careful and follow the ultrasound and be thorough.”
I asked the doctor if there was a booking fee for the further treatment, and he just told me I’ll be out of pocket around $500, which I already knew. So I didn’t really get an answer lol. I did find it surprising that this particular appointment was free though. I was expecting to fork out a further $100. So I feel that somewhat makes up for the $150 I hd to fork out for nothing prior to the surgery. So whether that had anything to do with me querying the “booking fee” (which seems dodgy AF to me), I’m not sure. I have read further information about booking fees online, and they have to relate to one’s treatment and nothing else, so given that I got today’s appointment fee-free, I’m feeling a little bit more okay. I mean technically a scan is part of my treatment? Especially since the doctor said I may only need one appointment for the injetions, but he said everyone is different in how they respond to the treatment. I was expecting three. The doctor actually said to me that he prefers patients to spend the least amount of money in as few appointments as possible, and that if patients come back three times, they’ll get annoyed at seeing him. So again, he’s very personable. On my way out I thanked him for the Endone prescription. He said, “It’s a lifesaver, isn’t it?” He called out to the receptionist, “No charge, Di!” and she was on the phone as I rounded the corner, so I wasn’t sure she had heard him, but she smiled and said I was free to go. So I don’t mind paying the $150 next time as much. I’ll see how it goes.

Just a piccie of me on the ferry back

I can definitely feel the discomfort more not wearing the stocking. I have taken it off to wash it, finally. My inner calf is quite bruised and looks green lol. I think I’ll just do light duties at work this week. Anyway, my entries have been boring as hell writing about nothing but this lately.

I need a shave


Last updated July 25, 2022


nthaniel July 25, 2022

I missed the last entry until last night. I'm glad you're healing up. Love and hugs!

s.q.u.e.a.k July 25, 2022

That last photo with superman looking at you 👌😂
Glad your procedure went well and you're on the mend!

Swanny July 25, 2022

Post op follow up is usually included as part of the upfront fees.

~Octopussy~ July 26, 2022

I'm glad everything went well!

kmh. August 03, 2022

Hahaha why is Superman giving you a dirty look in the last pic?
Glad to hear all is going well with your recovery :D

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.