Much betta! in Adventures in paradise

  • July 21, 2022, 2:33 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I feel sorry for the heatwave happening in the northern hemisphere, namely the UK. Usually, us Aussies laugh when the UK exclaims how hot it is, considering that’s a usual seasonal day in our Summer (which is Dec-Feb), but I’m feeling for them this time, as their city is designed to keep the heat in, with all it’s concrete buildings and what-not, and also not having much air conditioning as they haven’t had a need for it. Anyway, it’s been freezing when I’ve been in London so a bit hard to fathom.

As for me, the pain has subsided IMMENSELY. Like, how-cow immensely. Those first I would say around 18-24 hours were the worst pain I’ve experienced in years, and I was incredibly thankful for the Endone, as I wouldn’t have slept without it. Hours 24-36 were a bit rough also, but nowhere near the extent of the previous. Now after 36 hours, I almost feel back to normal. I’m still wearing my stocking and going for my daily walks for 45 minutes. I’ve picked up my mail and renewed my gym membership. I told the manager that I can’t work out for two weeks due to my surgery (she could see the blood-stained stocking lol) and she’s kindly letting me resume my membership from August 2nd. Another staff member rang me and left me a voicemail a few hours after I’d already been in there, so that was annoying that they obviously don’t confer with each other, but anyway.

This has been my fun life for most of this week, post-surgery of course

Showering has been fun. The first time I tried the cling-wrap method and it worked on my upper half of the stocking, but not the lower, so I spent the next hour hairdrying my stocking, which wasn’t fun. Couldn’t really go to bed with a wet stocking. So yesterday I popped into Woolies and bought a pack of 76 litre garbage bags, and got home to find out that still wasn’t big enough to fit my leg into properly (I intended to just tape it) ergh, so I had to improvise with both the garbage bag and cling wrap, and it was a success!
I’m catching up with Brande’ tonight and he is kindly popping into ALDI to get me a 300m roll of cling wrap, as I’ve used most of my 90m one up (it had already been used a lot, I haven’t gone through 90m!) but yeah I understand this is terrible for the environment but its really my only option to keep it dry. I’ll be re-using the garbage bag though and only need it for the top part where my huge-ass leg doesn’t fit. The only other garbage bag size is a 240 litre garden bag that stands upright lol. I guess that could have been an option.

Fail

Good

The walks have been nice. I have this weird sensation whenever I have to stop to wait to cross at a light or a crossing, and jay-walking hasn’t been an option, especially in the first few days, as I couldn’t rush myself at ALL, so I’ve just had to pray drivers are nice and let me finish crossing at the lights. I would be fucked if I still lived in Spring Hill where fucking idiot drivers don’t stop for people on the zebra crossings (I always had to stop and wait for them to zoom past).

Me looking raggid down by the river

A lovely currawong came to visit recently

Again, my life lately - looking like a sack of shit on the couch lol

I did watch “Old People’s Home For 4-Year-Old’s” on Netflix though, and that has to be the most wholehearted show I’ve seen in a long time. Oh my heart. The ABC really does make some amazing shows.
Other than that I’ve just been catching up on my usuals - RuPaul’s Drag Race, Better Call Saul, Loot and I started watching Ghosts last night which was pretty funny. I also watched Man VS Bee which was more entertaining than I thought it might be haha. My sister has been checking n on me and recommended Your Honor, and I like Bryan Cranston, so that should be good.

My mum rang yesterday from Mt Isa. They are up there for another few weeks. Most of my family can’t believe that I wasn’t put under (or had to stay overnight) for my procedure, but times and tech have changed I guess. It was mainly that first day of excrutiating pain that I had to get through! If you can hack that, things are A-okay. Thankfully I didn’t have chest pain or had to go to the ER. The only thing that’s pissing me off is the $150 “booking fee” that wasn’t disclosed to me, and it looks like they try to charge that each and every time I go in there for a procedure (of which I have 3 more to go - so that’s $600 for NOTHING, on top of the surgery costs). I think it’s a scam (and the internet tells me it’s illegal) but I mostly want to ask them why they charge so much for it. The doctor himself is amazing, but the reception staff leave a bit to be desired IMO.
At the end of the day, I need to get this done, and my mother said to me, “I guess doctor’s can charge what they want!”
Yeah, thanks mum.
Anyway, initially I was furious, but I’ve decided if things go well (touch-wood - so far so good) that I’ll still leave a good review, rather than dragging them for it, but I’ll also warn everyone else about the sneaky fees. I think patients sure as fuck have a right to know.


Last updated July 21, 2022


~Octopussy~ July 21, 2022

Wow, good for you. I'd be terrified.

KissOfLife! ~Octopussy~ ⋅ July 22, 2022

Why? Thailand has the best, good value medical on the planet!

kmh. July 24, 2022

The currawong photo 😍
So sorry you’ve endured so much pain, that really sucks. But I’m glad you’re on the mend now x

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.