all the little movements in 2022

  • July 20, 2022, 11:39 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

12:07

Well here I am, almost 3 months post-op with my new hip [I feel like she should have a name…] and it feels like every day there’s a new little thing I can do that I haven’t done in months.

Even just this morning while getting ready for work I had so many moments of “wow, I’m so grateful to be able to move”, which still amazes me. Dumb little things too. Like I can bend down without hesitation. I can actually reach to wash my foot. I can twist and turn and lay on my side [though that one I still hesitate on]. Lately the best one has been that I can lift my RT foot on to my left knee and put on my socks/shoes. That was impossible before. Even after surgery they made me try it in the hospital and as soon as I started to lift my leg at an angle I was like NOPE. That was literally the only thing I could not do before leaving the hospital, so it’s been great to have that ability now.

Anyway, all that stuff is grand. I’m grateful, and happy, and learning how to move all over again. I see improvements every day and I’m looking forward to continuing to heal.
There are plenty of other happenings in my life, but I always seem to fail at finding the motivation to write. I know I’ve been saying that forever. I really want to get back into the habit and I can’t.

The past couple of days have me trying to get back into some kind of routine. I know I need it. I haven’t been able to get my body, or my mind, completely healthy.

Did I mention that they want to replace both of my knees now? I don’t even remember what I wrote last, but yeah. I go for a follow-up with the new doc next week, but I’m going to have to decline for now. Not ready for that just yet and he already said that it will never feel like a normal knee no matter what. Plus I’m not even guaranteed a great outcome like with the hip. At the end of the day it could actually end up worse if I can’t rehab it correctly. No thanks. Not worth the risk just yet. I might not look very sexy when I walk, but at least I can walk!

I guess my point with all that is that I want to start a new routine to try to pull myself out of this hole I’ve fallen into over the last few years. So it’s only been a couple days, but my goals include doing my leg exercises and writing at least one moment in my “gratitude note” on my phone every night. I’d like to try adding in some strength training/weight lifting at some point. And possibly getting back on the stationary bike [which I haven’t tried since pre-surgery].

It does help that EC is currently motivated to work out because the neighbor let him borrow an old apple watch and they are challenging each other to see who can get the most points. He’d already started getting back into going to the gym, but I know this will help even more because he hates to lose. haha. That should help me too. I’m strongly considering the purchase of a new Fitbit since mine died some time during covid shut downs and I haven’t replaced it. Didn’t know if I wanted to spend the money, but maybe it’s worth it.

My ultimate goal [besides just getting healthier in general] is to feel comfortable wearing a swimsuit when I go to Miami next year. haha. Because how are you going to go to Miami without showing a little skin on the beach?!

So yeah, I was going to write some other stuff that’s happened recently, but I think I’ll do a separate entry with some bullets and not all the long drawn out details. At least this way it’ll be documented somewhere and not just floating in my head.

That’s all I’ve got for now. I finally caught up on reading entries from like mid-April so I have nothing else to procrastinate with when I hop on here. Let’s see if I can actually get that bullet list done today.

Until next time,
rose.

15:37


Last updated July 20, 2022


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.