T-Pain in Adventures in paradise

  • July 18, 2022, 5:53 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m in a LOT of pain, and wondering if the procedure was worth it. Hindsight is a wonderful thing.
I mean, I was expecting some pain, but it’s quite excruciating. The adverts claiming there isn’t much pain after EVL are completely false. There is most certainly pain. Granted, I only had the procedure done 9 hours ago and finished 7 hours ago, so it’s to be expected. And I don’t believe my pain threshold is high.
The claim that I could walk right out of the medical centre after it was done was true. I went for a walk and it was okay. The Anesthesia hadn’t completely worn off yet.

Anyway, back-track. When I arrived and handed in my consent forms, a nurse took me to a room where I had to change into a gown and underwear. Of course my huge ass ripped the underwear and they were hanging on the left side by a tiny thread. I have no idea how they held on. Anyway, the nurse helped me tie the gown and off to the first room I went.

The doctor told me the sonographer had fucked up the ultrasound on my right leg. Great. So I’d paid $300 for nothing. Like my initial consult, Dr. Tom had out his ultrasound equipment and was looking at his screen, but he was annoyed that whoever did the complex ultrasound wasn’t competent enough at their job. He did say my left leg was done properly however and that I could do that one instead if I wanted.
But I said only the right leg was my issue leg, at this stage anyway.
Anyway, Dr. Tom said that he could still fix it up for me. So the ultrasound is incorrect but he can still do the surgical procedure? Next thing I knew, I was walking to the procedure room and having it done!? Trust the doc, I guess?

The procedure itself sure was interesting. I felt pains and sensations that I’d never felt before, especially when the Anesthesia was being applied. I wish I could have seen what was happening, but I didn’t want to at the same time. It was fucking painful in itself, let alone when the fibre thingy was going in and yet AGAIN when the laser was being turned on (although compared to the first two, it was more bearable). As expected, my inner thigh was the most excruciating. I was handling it okay until the doctor asked me if I was sure I didn’t want the green whistle. In the end, I gave in and asked for it. He stopped and the nurse showed me how it was used.
I was using it a LOT at certain points.
Long story short… I was high as a fucking kite man! Fuck. What I was saying wasn’t making any sense as it was coming out of my mouth as I communicated with the doctor during the entire procedure. He’d keep asking if I was in pain, and twice I needed a top-up of the anesthetic (even the green whistle wasn’t enough), which again, was painful in itself.

I was so fucking glad when it was finally finished. He applied the compression stocking and I went to reception where I paid the $3400 or whatever it was. Thank god it went through. I was so stressed about that daily limit thing that I was sure the Indian guy on the other end of the phone this morning thought I was a moron when I rang up to confirm. I got out $800 in cash last night for no fucking reason.

I walked straight out and then onto the ferry toward back home, but got off a stop earlier so that I could walk more. I was feeling good walking but definitely noticing the pain more in my inner thigh, and it’s a similar sensation now. The inner thigh, just above the knee feels like it is extremely bruised. It very well could be, under the stocking. The stocking is the same colour as my other leg, so that’s good, other than the two bloodstains in has on it already. The doctor applied a dressing to the bigger bleed, but it has since just bled through and into the stocking, so now I’m stuck wearing these things for another week with bloodstains on them. I look like someone’s stabbed me, which I shouldn’t joke about since someone was killed here via that method last week, but yeah.

I stopped in at the pharmacy on my way home and picked up my pain medication prescriptions. Pretty cool that it’s just a QR code they scan. There’s no way my usual ancient old-school doctor would know how to text me a QR code 😅
This doctor who did my procedure today even told me to TEXT him tonight to let him how how I’m getting on. He said he does this with all of his patients. 🤯
Again, there’s zero chance my usual doctor would want his patients TEXTING him when he’s off the clock. He probably still has a rotary.
I didn’t really know what to text him tonight other than the obvious (I’m in pain, and you did this, fucker) but he even sent a short reply saying “Great! Sounds good.”
It fucking better be, and I hope this pain subsides even a little tomorrow. Just some reprieve, please.
He did say one thing after the procedure to me though - to keep an eye out for any chest pain, and if I experience any, to go to the emergency room. He said that’s the only thing he may have a concern about.
Eep. And we all know how great ER’s are here at the moment with the current CoVid wave crippling the city.
I am SURE that I interacted with at least THREE people yesterday who have it (Two staff, one customer) and I was the only staff member yesterday wearing a mask, because I sure as fuck didn’t want CoVid before this procedure today.
In fact, I’m thankful that I was able to get this done today considering so many people must be coming in with CoVid these days. I’m still hopeful that I did the right thing today by getting this fixed and I’m trying not to think that it could be a botched job. He did tell me he skipped over a little section which I think he is going to use the injections on instead in a few weeks time. Maybe that is also the section the sonographer didn’t get right?
I dunno. I figured they compared their ultrasound notes with one another and he wouldn’t have gone ahead with the procedure if he didn’t have all the right information.
If I’m wrong, then maybe there’s a malpractice lawsuit in the works and I’ll lose my leg after all. Fun times!

I still have another hour and a half before I can take another Endone. Hurry up.


Swanny July 18, 2022

Ugh I do not like that green whistle. Glad it gave you some relief though. Make sure you take the pain meds as prescribed. Don't be late or the pain sets in. Hope you feel better soon! x

KissOfLife! Swanny ⋅ July 18, 2022

Why don't you like it? Thanks.

Fawkes Gal July 18, 2022

Ugh, you poor thing. I hope it keeps improving. Being in pain sucks.

KissOfLife! Fawkes Gal ⋅ July 18, 2022

Thanks lovely

-d July 18, 2022

Peroxide will take the blood out of your stockings.

KissOfLife! -d ⋅ July 18, 2022

Thanks! Even whilst wearing them? The stain is mostly on the inner side, obvi.

-d KissOfLife! ⋅ July 19, 2022

Take them off for a minute or two, rinse the peroxide through then put them back on. If you can't you can still try with them on. Id do it maybe 5-10 minutes before you shower if you want to try with them on.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.