Summer Doldrums in Everyday Ramblings

  • July 9, 2022, 12:32 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

A flowering weed coming up through the renegade strawberries in the plot next to mine.

I have never used a home Covid test before, but I had these bumps on my arm that were either the results of an ambitious spider or hives, and I had hives as a weird side effect of the first two vaccine shots and I have been tired lately, so I thought it best to check.

Yesterday when I had a free moment, I downloaded the app from the packaging on the government issued test and watched the videos and did the test. I did manage to spray half the reagent all over the bathroom counter but there was enough for the test. Which was resoundingly negative.

And now I know how to do the test. It is easy once you learn the steps. I took a Benadryl before bed and the bites are better today. But I am still tired. I’ll take it easy this weekend. The dental stuff may have taken more out of me than I was aware of.

And all this disturbing news wears at one.

The monthly delivery of big and beautiful avocadoes I got for my birthday came today. I am glad they are soft when they ripen. I am still eating soft things, though I did manage to figure out how to eat lemon cookies over the last week. I suppose you could call that progress.

I was reading about the comfort dogs that a Lutheran group maintains as a team and deploys them to mass shooting memorials all over the country. That flat out made me cry. We are not setting a very good example for the rest of the world with all this senseless gun violence.

There is a chance, we will know in a week or so, that a petition drive here was successful, and we will have some basic common sense gun control measures on the ballot in November. Fingers crossed. A successful petition drive while the pandemic still is in play is an amazing thing.

We did get the recommended changes to the City Charter on the ballot, and this will include rank choice voting. We are having an unusual summer meeting of the local League of Women Voters on Monday to learn how to explain this to anyone that we can get to listen.

This week I have planted beets and basil I grew from seed. The seedlings are not that hardy even after a number of weeks in the cold frame, but I am hoping they will make it. The Gloriosa Daisies I put in a couple of weeks ago are still alive. And the volunteer Euphorbia is very happy. I will have lots of space when I take the cauliflowers and carrots out next week. Maybe this next batch of marigolds will be survive.

The tomato plants I grew from seed were big enough this week to cage. So those are looking like a win. I am learning so much.

This week I am teaching pelvic floor health in my classes, and I need to prep for that. Finding a way to make it fun and accessible to a mixed group is a challenge but it is an area we could all use a little help with, sadly, particularly as we age.

But first I am going to watch last night’s episode of Gardeners’ World. I think they are at a flower show again.

At least Boris didn’t mess with those as far as I know.


Last updated July 09, 2022


Jinn July 09, 2022

Plant Zinnias for lots of Fall bouquets . They grow pretty easy and fast . You can direct seed them right into your ground.

noko Jinn ⋅ July 09, 2022

Good idea. I did that last year.

mcbee July 10, 2022

Yes, I used one of my covid tests back a few weeks, and I found it a little user unfriendly....but I struggle with the arthritis in my hands so I was just glad I got it to work.

I want to cry a lot. The world seems like something out of a bizarre futuristic movie. I am just very lucky that I have this delightful new grandson to distract me. Feel better with your mouth soon I hope. Such a long process!!! I hate it for you. πŸ˜’πŸ˜­πŸ˜©πŸ™πŸ˜•πŸ˜΄πŸ˜πŸ™ƒπŸ™‚πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

Zipster July 11, 2022

Such a pretty photo of said weed. Glad your test was negative and that the Benadryl was helpful. I am almost thru harvesting my tomatoes! I also have a delicious Basil Vinagrete recipe if you are interested. I so struggle with the news, I can hardly bear to watch it.

Deleted user July 14, 2022

I hear you on the dental work. Who knew it could be so draining?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.