Beauty is this thing in These titles mean nothing.

  • June 27, 2022, 9:30 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Jim just had me go across the creek and up in the clearing to bring back Joana’s pickup. We went in the side by side thingie - I wore my seat belt. The sun had set and left this exquisite blue and pink pattern in the northwest corner of the sky. We drove by the curved rows of soybeans, across the deep ditched creek, up into the big corn field, then up the road through the wild woods into the clearing that’s just been baled of first crop hay. We drove across it to the high corner where we could see the lights at the soft ball fields at the fair grounds and then back to where the truck was hidden in the old driveway. There were deer. A dozen. Beautiful wild cows. In three fields. I drove the truck back. Following Jim in the side by side. He reminded me not to drive into the bale spikes sticking out of the skid loader. Good thing too, because I might have forgotten and did it.
Gracie was mad when we left and glad when we came back.
The crops are lush. The woods look good. Life is this gift. Every day.


Last updated June 27, 2022


thesunnyabyss June 27, 2022

Beautiful!

WhatDreamsMayCome June 28, 2022

It is so sweet and satisfying to go where there are no roads.
(As long as you look out for the bale spikes!) ;-)

Just Annie June 28, 2022

Indeed. Life is a gift.

Purple Dawn June 28, 2022

Lush crops are what I like to hear about :)
Do you take the sideXside yourself sometimes for a little jaunt? Ours is back and fixed. I think my brother will want to lay more claim to it now as he paid for the head to be fixed...I did offer him $'s though ;)

woman in the moon Purple Dawn ⋅ June 28, 2022

Oh my - you had to fix its head? What kind do you have? We have a Polaris. Son John bought it from someone at work - for Deb's birthday a few years ago - and since the land to run it on is here, it's here. I think he though his kids could get comfortable with it as a help in learning to drive.
I drove it at first a little. It has a jerk when it goes into gear - not just for inexperienced drivers but for everybody - and it's kind of hard to drive. I should have tried to do it more. We've heard that Hondas have smoother transmissions. Jim put this one over on its side a couple weeks ago just coming in the driveway. He had his seat belt on - and he didn't damage the vehicle - I think I wrote about it. He pulled over on its wheels with the skid loader. Love farming. It's so full of vehicles.

woman in the moon Purple Dawn ⋅ June 28, 2022

Oh my - you had to fix its head? What kind do you have? We have a Polaris. Son John bought it from someone at work - for Deb's birthday a few years ago - and since the land to run it on is here, it's here. I think he though his kids could get comfortable with it as a help in learning to drive.
I drove it at first a little. It has a jerk when it goes into gear - not just for inexperienced drivers but for everybody - and it's kind of hard to drive. I should have tried to do it more. We've heard that Hondas have smoother transmissions. Jim put this one over on its side a couple weeks ago just coming in the driveway. He had his seat belt on - and he didn't damage the vehicle - I think I wrote about it. He pulled over on its wheels with the skid loader. Love farming. It's so full of vehicles.

Purple Dawn woman in the moon ⋅ June 28, 2022

Ours is a Polaris 700. It's nice and light and easy to drive :)

Beret June 28, 2022

Your description sounds like the Iowa of my youth as I remember it.

woman in the moon Beret ⋅ June 28, 2022

It's still beautiful. Tip-top time of year.

noko June 29, 2022

Thanks for sharing your beautiful world.

NorthernSeeker June 30, 2022

Going outside to look at beauty is so rejuvenating. Your land and the light are beautiful.

woman in the moon NorthernSeeker ⋅ June 30, 2022

I hate to make it look like I"m bragging. It's nice but not extraordinary.

God life gets complicated when you let it.

I might have to put that on my tombstone.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.