Funemployment Week #16 in These Foolish Things

  • June 20, 2022, 5:07 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Pretty productive day in Funemploymentland today. Week 16, here we are.

I spoke with Gillian, my headhunter “friend” (she’s the one I was speaking with last year about a job with the “serious/boring” company - she ended up placing my former work colleague in the role). I sent her my updated resume, and we’ve now had two great phone conversations and another one scheduled for Friday.

I found three additional jobs to apply for today that are within the area - and there’s one that I applied for a couple of weeks ago that I know I’m perfect for if I could just get them to freaking CALL ME! I even did a drive-by to their downtown office last week to check out their building (sooooo badass).

OH, I have a Teams interview with a food/chef-based product company tomorrow. Thing is, I’m not a food developer, BUT, many times there are crossovers and transferable skills. The recruiter for the company said she was very impressed with my resume, so we’ll see. Problem is, the commute would suck, so I’m hoping for a super-hybrid role. I was already told they are on a hybrid schedule of 3 days/week, but I’d much rather do 1 or 2…but I suppose I should even see if I want or qualify for the role in the first place.

AND I was back in touch with the industrial equipment folks today. They told me that I was way out of the ballpark on my salary ask (even though the hiring manager said that the owner could pretty much do what he wanted with salary). I admit, I was high on my ask because I am soooooo not pumped about the product, so is that considered a mistake or misstep? Who knows. Maybe.

Regarding salary, the thing is, I’d take a lower salary for a position that I’m super excited about. I’ve actually run the numbers on cutting my salary by nearly 35% and it would put me on a very strict budget but I could manage. I would not be happy about it, but it would get my foot in the door at a more junior level and maybe I wouldn’t be so stressed at my job. You know?

The other thing is, I don’t even HAVE a salary right now, so WTF am I even talking about?

I am starting to get nervous about a recession. I’d much rather have a secure job at a lower level and perform well than be hanging out there like a little caterpillar in the wind all the time like I was at my last job. I don’t want to take that much of a cut, and I am pretty sure I can work on negotiating for higher, but reasonable at the level I’m going for…

Meh. Just writing all of that above gave me a twinge of nervousness.

But yes, today I felt more productive than I have in weeks.

Send me good juju and prayers to the employment gods that I will have something right up my alley in the very near future!

xo,
GS


bobbi01 June 20, 2022

All the good juju for you. I'm pretty confident that even if you went in at a lower level you would soon be a high flyer again.

pandora June 25, 2022

All the good juju!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.