Fashion Clarification and Digital Fashion in These Foolish Things

  • June 18, 2022, 11:14 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Per my previous entry where I said that I think those billowy sundresses with pockets are unflattering, I still stand by that.

But what I mean is, those dresses that make an A-line shape or have an empire waist - NOT those dresses that are fit-and-flare or full circle skirts. I love the classic fit-and-flare and full skirts that define the upper body. They help balance out the human form. I am just not in love with the glorified sleeveless housecoats with spaghetti straps that are doubling as sundresses. Does that makes sense?

No offense to anyone who wears these (because I wear the HECK out of them in the summertime) - they just don’t skim the body and look very balloon-like and pockets add even more volume. Still, I’m actually going to be wearing one tomorrow when I visit my family for Father’s Day because I love the print and it looks cute with my hat - and it’s super comfortable. So.

I hope that clarifies.

So speaking of fashion, did you hear that Meta (Mark Zuckerberg) is going to start SELLING designer clothing for your freaking avatar??! I actually saw the Instagram live on Eva Chen’s IG account as it was happening. I don’t even know what prompted me to watch yesterday afternoon except for the fact that I was clicking around on IG and saw she was going live with Zuck and it was going to be about avatar fashion.

So here’s the thing - I think avatars are stuuuuupid looking! I mean, who is the artist who has come up with this craziness? And then, the bodies look funny and they all look the same. And on top of that, they want us to PAY REAL MONEY to clothe these little fuckers?

I can see how it can be fun for a lot of people - especially kids. And yes, I’ve played around with the avatar that you can create on Facebook and Instagram, so I can’t say that I’m absolutely not on board with some of this stuff, but can we please make avatars look better?

And what am I even going to be using avatars for going forward? Are we someday going to have to live our lives in virtual reality? Again, I’m not bashing progress in technology, I just see this veering into something weird.

There. That’s my fashion talk for today. Off to eat some party salad.

Happy Saturday,
GS


Athena June 18, 2022

So that’s why you have not supported my dream of owning a muumuu business!

Ginger Snap Athena ⋅ June 18, 2022

Haha! But muumuus are not sundresses!

Athena Ginger Snap ⋅ June 18, 2022

Not all muumuus are sundresses but some sundresses are muumuus!

Florentine June 18, 2022

They’re called nap dresses and I agree 100 percent: comfy as f*ck but not the most flattering shape. They do not define or accentuate the female form at all. I have one and do wear it, but usually when I’m on my period and want to hide the bloat/not care about more than just getting through the day. 😂

Deleted user June 18, 2022

I didn't even know you could create avatars on FB and IG. Shows you tge last time I updated either. 😂

echopod June 18, 2022

I’m irrationally irritated with people who use those stupid avatars every time they post. Most of the time it’s angry posts with an angry version. Just NO. I have unfollowed people for that, it’s a thing with me.

I hear ya on the dresses. I’d love to wear them anyway, but I’m only 5’ 1” and change, and I don’t need help looking shorter. Most dresses don’t do that but those make me look like a cupcake in a bad way.

Jinn June 18, 2022

I hate those avatars :-)

Ginger Snap Jinn ⋅ June 19, 2022

Haaaaate. Well, hate might be a strong word from me because I must admit, I’ve played around with them. But I think right now they look ridiculous. Meta has a lot of work to do to make them look halfway decent.

Jinn Ginger Snap ⋅ June 19, 2022

It’s silly 🙃 and I certainly would not pay to clothe them but that is just me. I am sure I have wasted money on equally as useless things :-)

Perpetually Plump June 19, 2022

I went to the store a few weeks back, looking for dresses for the summer. I look like a pregnant potato sack in those dresses.

This is what I wore today. I didn't know it was called fit and flare, but that is definitely my preference of dress: https://web.archive.org/web/20160714152917/http://www.trashydiva.com/shop/trashydiva-annedress-redfans#

.allison. June 19, 2022

i find summery clothes to be trash in general. give me tights and boots and jackets and ALL BLACK EVERYTHANG plz!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.