10 Summer-y Things in These Foolish Things

  • June 17, 2022, 4:22 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

  1. Gotta get an entry in before a networking call I have today at 4:30. That will be the only thing I have done on my job search today. Welcome to the beginning of Week #16 of Funemployment (which will actually be next week). And yes, I’ve done other things during Week 15 (this week). In fact, I have reconnected with two headhunters and had very productive conversations, but I now feel like I’m racing against a recession!

  2. Trying very hard not to obsess over the news lately. I no longer wake up and turn on the TV to see what’s going on in the world. It’s starting to stress me the fuck out even more than it was already freaking me out.

  3. Even though today might seem like it was the “fun day” this week (I dressed cute, took the dog on a less-intense walk to the Starbucks for a free tea and a light walk on the city trail and then to the indoor, air-conditioned mall where I carried her in my purse like the spoiled little creature that she is), yesterday was actually my “fun day” because I was having the girls over for the first concert at my neighborhood’s amphitheater. During the summer, every other Thursday evening is an outdoor concert and HUNDREDS of people descend on the park just outside the Treehouse to see live bands, food trucks and enjoy the community. There are five of these events, and at least two of my girlfriends told me that they wanted to come over for every single one of these shows. Three more told me that they’d like to come for this particular event last night. How fun, right? So yesterday morning I sent a reminder text and then went to the store and got a whole bunch of healthy snack fixins to make fun treats for the evening. Came home, scrubbed the two bathrooms, dusted and straightened up and made a killer Thai chicken salad and started cutting up a fruit tray. Alas, one by one, everyone canceled on me! And honestly, it’s no big deal because it’s a Thursday night, but it was a bit of a bummer because I’d been planning these evenings for a while now. Still, the shows happen during prime dog walking time, so I got a bit prettied up anyway and took Martini out to check things out. And that was fun. Next time I’ll bring Martini’s carry bag because she gets tired at 8pm and I’ll just put her in her bag and walk around some more. Lots of VERY interesting people watching!

  4. Speaking of getting dolled up on a hot summer evening, I have an observation. You know those trendy little sundresses that have either a gathered kind of a-line shape or an empire waist with a long, excess fabric flowy-ish skirt below AND they have pockets? You see them everywhere now - from Anthropology to Old Navy to the cute little boutique stores. They look cute as a button on the hanger, and they are CRAZY comfortable. But they are NOT FLATTERING in the least! I’m saying this because I have several of these dresses and, while I love their comfort, I will not be buying these ever again. Every time I get a glimpse of myself (yes, I’m vain) in the reflection of the downtown buildings (where I was on Wednesday) or really even if I’m walking past my full-length mirror, I think, daaaamn girl, you are wearing a TENT. And even though I’m still working on that pooch that may never go away because well, you know, COLON TUMOR SURGERY, I am not completely disgusting from my boobs down to my knees, and those dresses seem to make me feel that way. I honestly believe it’s because of the pockets. They add so much excess fabric to these cute little dresses and they do NOTHING for anybody except add BULK. And all these people are on social media bragging about their dresses that have POCKETS!! NO! Just no.

  5. If we are friends on social media, you will still see me wearing these dresses occasionally, however, because I do not have the budget to buy new, more flattering sundresses (my uniform in the summertime). And like I said, they are the most comfortable garments in the world because you can literally get away with wearing them without ANYthing else - zero undergarments = ultimate comfort!

  6. Martini and I have walked WELL over 80 miles so far in our 30-mile challenge! I mean, I knew that we’d go way over 30 miles because we do walk about 5 miles per day anyway, but it’s fun to track the progress. And the donations are nearly $200 over my $1500 goal! Way to go, friends! Xoxoxo

  7. Best Bud went on a business trip this week. It was in Cancun. She was sending me all of these photos of her delicious meals and the amazing views from her hotel balcony and telling me how happy she was to be traveling again. I was kind of jealous. She got home yesterday, but had to take her dad to dinner because he missed his dinner time at his memory care center so she couldn’t make it to the concert last night. Again, no biggie, right? Today, she sent me a text telling me she tested positive for COVID! Ughhh! While I don’t wish Covid on anyone except for Donald Trump and Ted Cruz, I know it was a blessing in disguise that she didn’t come over to my place! I sure hope her dad is OK!

  8. My poison ivy lingers on. I’m still itchy on my legs, but it seems to have subsided on my arms. This shit is no joke! And I understand that each case you get will be worse and worse. Yet, I wonder if maybe the fact that I had chemo last year made it this bad? I mean, I would hope my immune system would be close to back to normal by this point, but I have lingering neuropathy in my feet. Who knows?

  9. Oh, speaking of chemo, funny thing! For the longest, longest time after chemo I didn’t have to shave my legs or armpits. Though the hair on my head thinned quite a bit, I certainly didn’t go bald on the head, but I went bald in my pits and on my legs. I finally had to buy razors again on this last Target run. Progress or bummer? Ha.

  10. OK. I am essentially caught up here. Nothing too exciting, but I needed to write for my sanity. I’m finally digging into the book The Body Keeps the Score , which is a fascinating read about understanding and treating traumatic stress, and I know that writing here in PB is helpful to my healing. On that note, I feel better. Now time to mentally prep for my phone call.

Happy weekend, all!
GS


Last updated June 17, 2022


Superposition June 17, 2022

I'm not even gonna lie...all my friends cancelling on me sounds great haha

Ginger Snap Superposition ⋅ June 17, 2022

Honestly, it was totally fine either way. More treats for me! 😊

a girl thinking June 17, 2022

I have to say I love pockets in dresses!

Ginger Snap a girl thinking ⋅ June 17, 2022

Everybody’s putting pockets in their dresses nowadays. It’s a fun idea, but do you put things in those pockets? 😊

a girl thinking Ginger Snap ⋅ June 17, 2022

Hands!

Perpetually Plump June 18, 2022

Would you be interested in sharing this recipe for the Thai chicken salad? That sounds right up my alley!

I really love pockets and dresses, but that assumes the dress can handle the pockets. I wear a lot of dresses and skirts that are full circle, so they have an excessive amount of fabric to give big, full skirts. And it is super easy to hide pockets in a dress like that. As far as using them? I can put my car key in there or when I was at Costco yesterday, I slipped my debit card and my Costco card in there. Of course, trying to find the pocket again amongst the billion little gathers was damn near impossible. That's what I get for wearing structured dresses though!

Ginger Snap Perpetually Plump ⋅ June 18, 2022

Found this link on Pinterest:
https://www.fivehearthome.com/thai-chicken-chopped-salad-with-peanut-dressing/

I used a broccoli salad (already shredded and in the bag - easy!) instead of the napa cabbage and I used chili oil instead of sriracha in the dressing and it worked perfectly!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.