Laid To Rest in Thirty-Seven

  • June 16, 2022, 12:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My dad was laid to rest on June 7. The whole trip was good.

We got up early Monday morning and got everything packed up in the car. Got the dogs sorted and then got on the road. We were halfway to Deming (30ish min) when I realized I forgot Dice’s Insulin. So we turned around, I got everything and then we headed out.

We stopped in Deming to gas up, then again outside of Socorro to go to the bathroom and let the doggos out. We had planned to stop in ABQ but Randy was passed out so I just drove through. We were literally like 20 minutes behind my brothers and everyone else from ABQ (brothers got there Saturday and Sunday).

So we went to grandma’s said hello to everyone real quick and let the doggos out. Then we went and checked into the hotel and got settled there, kind of refreshed ourselves, smoked a little weed and then headed over to Grandmas.

There was a bunch of people there that evening. Family and “family” if you know what I mean. The family we have in Taos is huge. Half of them aren’t even directly related to us (most are my Tia Veronica’s family), and a few other friends we met along the way.

All together there was obviously the three of us, Randy, Grandma, Tia Margie and Tio Louie, Tia Veronica and Tio Benny, Margaret and Eric, Patricia, Lisa, Josh and one of his twins Lili, Bea, David and Christine, Jose and Hitana, Lawrence, Tere and Ruben, Brandie, and April. I believe that it.

So we had some food, they made Frito Pies, talked a lot and just hung out. My grandma is 97 years old and she spent the greater part of the day out on the porch with us talking and laughing (she asked my cousin Lisa if she wanted to see her boob LMAO). So that was a good day lol.

We left there around 10 that night, back to the hotel and passed the F out. The dogs did well too. They stayed at the hotel that first night and just rested. When we got back Dice was all passed out on the bed lol. They had to get used to going up and down the stairs of the place though. Dice didn’t like that but he got used to it.

Tuesday morning we got up and had some breakfast, then went over to Grandma’s by like 10. My Tio Benny made my dad a beautiful box, so we were able to put him in there with his Steeler’s Scarf and hat and his sunglasses that he always wore. So he was prepared. My Uncle Pat and his wife Veronica and my Aunt Lina showed up at around 10 also to the house.

We were supposed to be at the Cemetery before 11, because everything was supposed to be at 11. But the Priest didn’t show up until like 11:30 ugh lol. It was hot out too so we stood around in the sun for a while. I got all toasted.

The ceremony was good, short and sweet. My cousin Lisa sang a couple songs. She almost lost it towards the end of it. It was nice to see both sides of the family come together, even for just a minute. My Uncle Pat was having a bit of an emotional time just being in Taos again. They had all gone up before to my grandma’s but it was a while since they had been up there.

But yeah so after the service, Randy and I went back to the Hotel to change, and then we brought the dogs over to Grandma’s for a while. We had more food and then everyone left back to Abq. Randy and I were staying in Taos one more night. So everyone left around 4, we went back to the hotel and kinda just hung out.

Went out a little bit later and got some food and just chilled the rest of the evening.

Tuesday we got up, checked out and then went to Grandma’s again. My Tio Benny was there with her so we hung out for a bit until my Tia Margie and Tio Louie showed up so we could say buhbye. Then we got our blessing from Grandma, the dogs too. Went and saw mom and dad one last time for the trip and then headed home.

We stopped in Espanola to get some drinks, Belen to get some food and then Hatch to get gas and we made it home by like 6 PM.

The drive home was crazy lol. It was windy as all hell. Coming into Abq it was windy and dusty. South of Abq it was just windy. As we were getting close to Socorro, we hit a nasty rain and hail storm. Lasted for about 20 miles. The temp at that point dropped to 57 degrees.

Between T or C and Hatch, we hit a nasty dust storm. There was a huge dust devil approaching the interstate when we got close to it. But it passed the road once we had already driven by. Then as we got into Hatch, the temp read 108 degrees. OY!

So after that we didn’t have any issues. There was an accident on the road between Hatch and Deming but we were only stopped for maybe 10 minutes total. Got home and the house was SO freaking hot. It was a lot cooler in the bedroom thankfully, but still warm. We got the main cooler going and checked on everyone and everyone was doing good, so we just relaxed the rest of the evening.

And that’s pretty much it. We still haven’t gotten our money. No surprise there. I doubt we’ll see it before the end of the month, which means along with our gas that already got shut off, our electricity probably will be also. Luckily it’s going to be cool this next week so we won’t have to worry too much about not being able to run the coolers. It’s supposed to be rainy.

Then the internet will be shut off somewhere in there too.

I’m just fucking tired of waiting for Pima County to do their fucking jobs. It shouldn’t take two weeks each time something has to go to a new place. It took a week and a half just for the judge to sign the damn paper. The hearing was May 27th and she signed the order on June 9th.

Randy keeps saying “Kathleen is doing this or that” and I’m like well that’s all good and well, but it’s not up to her. It’s, now, up to the Pima County Treasurers office. They should have received the order by now, as it was mailed last Friday, but they’re just sitting on it. So yeah. I’m guessing they’re going to drag it out as long as possible and we’re going to get our money at the end of the month, or maybe even July at this point, which as usual, screws up our plans for everything.

Oh well, what can we do. I’m tired of asking for help because people are being horrible about it nowadays. Like I can understand saying no, but people are just straight up telling me I need to stop begging for help because they are tired of it. Yeah I’m fucking tired of being dependent on everyone too, but what else can I fucking do.

Anywho, I suppose that is all. Hope you all have a good one.


Last updated August 18, 2022


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.