IT'S HARD in Postcards 4

  • June 15, 2022, 5:24 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

alt text

It’s really hard for me to get started quilting again. I seem to want to nap or read instead of quilting or even drawing. I used to wonder why my very talented mother and grandmother stopped their artwork when they reached their eighties. And they did.

Once mother started taking cruises in her seventies, she did make colorful sketches. They weren’t very good sketches. Grandma did draw a bit but only if she got a commission. Grandma couldn’t afford to buy more pasteles when hers got to be just nubs. She saved them in small glass tubes. Perhaps that’s why I saved my many boxes of those colorful chalk sticks.

alt text

The top quilt is one of the first I did for Alex. The bottom is one for George.


gattaca June 15, 2022

Those quilts are both beautiful!

Zipster June 15, 2022

They are lively and so rich in texture and layering, like there is a history to behold.

woman in the moon June 15, 2022

What a talented line of women you come from. Age is hard. I think we forget what we could do, forget how hard it was for us, forget how we persisted. Now we want things easier, we deserve things easier. Even if there is art left in us, is isn't trying to hard to get out.
The quilts in the photos are lovely.

Amelie's Twin June 15, 2022

Gorgeous quilts!

NorthernSeeker June 16, 2022

Love that top quilt. Quilting is painstaking, potentially tiring and irritating. Kind of like cutting out pieces for collage.

MageB NorthernSeeker ⋅ June 19, 2022

Exactly.

Narrator June 19, 2022

They're both stunning - and a heck of a lot of piecing. (I'm currently in the middle of trying to wrestle a quilt backing to lie flat in a sandwich, so I fully empathize with napping instead.)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.