sasquatch book stuff in life stuff and misc.

  • June 9, 2014, 8:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I've finished four supplemental chapters for my "bigfoot in LA" book wrote a bare-bones draft of over the winter, fleshing out the pacing and better developing the antagonist character, as were the major notes from friends good enough to give it a look. That's twenty chapters now, one or two more to write buffeting those parts of the story and then I have to put in the work of actually polishing both the old stuff and the new stuff together into something that's coherent unto itself.

I mean, I'm sure I've accidentally touched on some of the same points multiple times, not for effect but out of forgetfulness. In 66,400 words I guess that will happen. Maybe I'll end up writing another six or seven thousand words before I get to the hard part of the editing, I don't know. Have some things I need to shift around and some other things I need to trim, of course.

80,000 words was my length ballpark for a sci-fi/literary fiction hybrid, I dunno, if it all ends up about 73-75K I wonder if that would get me laughed out of the room trying to pitch it somewhere.

I don't know who to pitch it TO or HOW but I'll burn that bridge when I cross it, I guess. I guess.


girl1sc June 09, 2014

I can barely muster a status update on FB much less 73k words.

Satine June 09, 2014

So interesting...as developed as LA is I feel like it is so wild too, LA yeti idea is really neat. Keep up the good work!

Avalon June 10, 2014

Congrats on the progress!

Squidobarnez June 10, 2014

I'm proud of you for just doing this, man.

high-fives

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.