Five Current Things in These Foolish Things

  • June 9, 2022, 9:18 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

  1. Currently watching the January 6th hearings. Just came back from my evening dog walk and had to rewind some of it to see the video of the breach of the Capitol. Man. What a freaking riot. And I don’t mean in the funny kind of way. Good god, those insurrectionists were fucking horrific and disgusting. Now watching the filmmaker who followed the right wingers during the attack. He met with the Oath Keepers and the Proud Boys. He thought they were there to cover Trump’s speech, but they moved off in a different direction, walking towards the Capitol. I’m still shaken, as I’m sure we all are, by that day. I can appreciate the videos they are playing. If we hadn’t seen it before, the message is CLEAR. I don’t even have to say anything, do I?

  2. Looks like layoffs are starting to happen around the United States - I know mainly in the Tech industry, but still. Layoffs are layoffs and I still don’t have a great job prospect out there. It’s Week Number 14 of Funemployment. I’m pretty sure that I’m ready. I’m ready to get into a new gig and ready to start to feel a bit of security before things get nasty, you know? The long commute job is being a little wishy-washy about salary, which annoys me, and I’ve been ghosted by the Industrial Products Company (grrrr!). It’s time to break out the bigger, more aggressive guns!

  3. Last week my ‘fun event’ was a kayak trip on one of our local lakes with my friend Jackie and another one of her friends. How much fun! Now. I know what you’re wondering (or maybe not): didn’t she have vertigo last week? Yes. Yes she did. And to be honest, I still wasn’t 100% when we did the kayaking. HOWEVER. The wind wasn’t blowing that day. And I was among friends - not on a date. I just felt much more comfortable about going kayaking on a smooth lake than on a boat on a windy day with a dude I don’t really know. Regardless, I’d love to do it again. And again. Kayaking is fun! We are talking about doing SUP the next time.

  4. Today on my morning walk with Martini, I decided to walk us over to Target so I could pick up some calamine lotion/spray to help with the poison ivy that’s been spreading on my body. At this point, I have it on my right arm, my right boob, under my right arm and now on my butt and the back of my thighs. Ughhh! I guess I must have gotten some of the poison ivy oil on the seat of my car or something? I have washed everything I wore that day plus my sheets and towels and everything.

  5. Anyway, on our walk, we walked through another little neighborhood. It’s a cute little tree-lined area tucked away behind a main thoroughfare in my area. You’d never know it was right next to a busy part of town because it’s so quaint. While we walked through, we came across a group of photographers and others who were shooting a marketing campaign for the website opendoor.com. One of the guys asked me if he could say hello to Martini, and I said of course! And then the whole group came over and then asked me if Martini and I would be part of their photoshoot! Well, I of course had some time on my hands, so I said “sure!” They had me walk Martini back and forth in front of one of the townhouses several times and then one of the photogs said he’d take some portraits and send them to me for my time. I thought that was really cool! I haven’t gotten them yet, but I’m looking forward to seeing them!

GS


The Rocky Mountain June 09, 2022

The butt is the worst place to get a bad itch!! I got stung by a bee there once and it was terrible. Hope you feel better soon!

Deleted user June 09, 2022

Yep, that was a hairy day. We had curfew here for a few days.

Gee, now I wonder if Miranda's meetings are about downsizing.

colder June 09, 2022

That hearing stuff is crazy, I can't even watch it.

For some reason, I have never in my life gotten poison ivy/oak/sumac anything. Thank goodness because I'm the worst about not itching stuff that itches!

Complicated Disaster June 10, 2022

Crumbs. SO much stuff! My tech stock has crashed badly in the last few months so I'm not surprised to hear about layoffs. Hopefully it won't be reflected in your industry!
Of course the guys loved Martini!
xx

IpsoFacto June 12, 2022

Do not laugh. I mean this in all seriousness… The very best thing to put on that poison ivy is a very light coating of Vagisil. I use Vagisil on every mosquito bite bug bite ant bite whatever.

plushcreep June 12, 2022

Stumbling upon a photo shoot and ending up the subject feels like a very Forrest Gump move.

Ginger Snap plushcreep ⋅ June 13, 2022

How funny! I'd never really thought of that. I should get out more often!

king of i June 16, 2022

Still don’t understand how folks can be like “no big, they were peaceful tourists who just cared a lot about democracy.” We didn’t learn our lesson from it. Maybe we will next time (and there will be one).

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.